Finding Books
Use UCLID, UC Library Catalog to locate books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries
Search for company names or use the following Library of Congress Subject Heading Categories for a more general search:
Design, industrial
Industrial designers
Designers -- United States
Design, United States
Consumer goods -- design
Design services
Engineering design
Industrial Engineering
Identifying articles on a topic in journals, newspapers and wire services:
Use the Indexes below to identify articles on industrial design topics:
ABI/Inform
Covers 1000 business and economics periodicals from 1971-present
Business
Source Premier
Contains 2,710 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering
management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business
from 1965 to the present
Factiva
Factiva's business information includes Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires
and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources from around
the world. These sources provide current news, historical articles, local-language
articles, and stock quotes. Factiva provides access to more than 900 non-English
sources and provides access to key content in 22 languages from 118 countries
not available on the free Web. Many of the full-text articles go back to 1980.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
General News, Company News Industry & Market News, Company Financial Information
Country Profiles, State Profiles, Biographical Information, Reference &
Directories Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, Accounting, Auditing & Tax.
Design
& Applied Arts Index
Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft
journals.
Art Abstracts
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for 313 leading
international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum
bulletins. This database offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising,
archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film,
architecture, and art history.
Obtaining articles:
If the Index does not provide a link to the Library catalog or to the article online,
or if you have an article citation from another source:
To find an article full-text online, search by the name of the journal (not the title of the article) in the Online Full Text Journal Finder. This will identify a database which provides full text of that journal and the dates covered.
To find an article in a paper journal, search the Library Catalog by the name of the journal. The catalog will identify the volume numbers, dates and location of journals owned by UC Libraries.
Finding information about companies:
Dun's Million Dollar Database
Information on 500,000 public and private US and Canadian
companies; also covers Dun's Reference Book of Corporate Management with
biographical information about approximately 600,000 executives.
Value Line Research
Center
Includes on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks,
mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation
stocks. Included are: Value Line Investment Survey; Value Line Investment
Survey - Small and Mid-Cap Edition; Value Line Mutual Fund Survey; Value Line
Investment Survey; Value Line Daily Options Survey; Value Line Special Situations
Survey; Value Line Convertibles Survey; and the Exchange Traded
Funds (ETFs) .
Link to more business resources from the UC Internet Business and Economics Library web page.
Directories of Designers
Design Management Institute /
Directory
DAAP Reference T342 .D469 Members 2005-06
Useful Web Sites :
CORE Industrial Design Network
Industrial Designers Society of America
Association of Women Industrial Designers
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Design Management Institute Job Bank