DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
Libraries

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

INDUSTRIAL DESIGN

Finding Books

Use UCLID, UC Library Catalog to locate books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries

Subject search using Library of Congress Subject Headings:

Design, Industrial
Industrial Designers
Engineering Design
Industrial Engineering
Human Engineering
Human Factors

Some narrower subject headings:

Design, Industrial - Awards
Design, Industrial - Competitions
Design, Industrial - History
Design, Industrial - History - 20th Century
Design, Industrial - Italy
Design, Industrial - United States - History
Design, Industrial - Management
Design, Industrial - Psychological Aspects
Design, Industrial - Social Aspects
Design - Psychological Aspects

For browsing:
Industrial design history call number area: TS1-900
Ergonomics/human factors call number area: TA166
Furniture and home appliances call number area: NK

Finding Articles in Journals Using Indexes and Databases

Use the resources below to locate journal articles

Business Source Premier 1965 - Present
Indexes business journals

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts 1983 - Present
Indexes journals: Human Factors, Ergonomics

Art Abstracts 1929 - Present
Indexes journals: ID, Design Issues, Design Studies

Business and Industry Database 1994 - Present

Design and Applied Arts Index , 1973 -Present

Factiva
General interest and business newspapers and journals

Electronic Journal Center : full text: all topics, mostly science and engineering

Ergonomics Abstracts

Academic Search Premier : 1984 - present, Multi-disciplinary
Indexes journals: Ergonomics, Applied Ergonomics, Design News

PsycINFO : Psychology journals

REFERENCE RESOURCES

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Directories

Materials and design : the art and science of material selection
in product design / Mike Ashby and Kara Johnson.
DAAP Reference TS171 .A74 2002 c.2

Smart materials and new technologies : for the architecture and
design professions / D. Michelle Addington, Daniel L. Schodek.
DAAP Reference TA418.9.S62 A38 2005 c.2

Human Factors Design Handbook. Wesley E. Woodson.
DAAP Ref TA166 .W57 1992

Occupational Ergonomics Handbook
DAAP Ref TA166 .O258 2006

Human dimension and interior space. Julius Panero.
DAAP Reference Oversize NA2542.4.P356 1979 c.2

WEB SITES

CORE Industrial Design Network: http://www.core77.com/
Industrial Designers Society of America: www.idsa.org
Ergoweb: http://www.ergoweb.com/index.cfm
The Ergonomics Society: http://www.ergonomics.org.uk/
Design Management Institute http://www.dmi.org/dmi/html/index.htm
Design Management Institute Bulletin :
http://www.dmi.org/dmi/html/publications/news/ebulletin/index.htm
History of Cars Timeline : http://discoverychannel.co.uk/cars/timeline/
Patents and Trademarks Resource list compiled by the Cincinnati Public Library

Engineering Library : www.engrlib.uc.edu/
For reference resources on Industrial Design: click on Reference Guides,
13. Industrial Engineering
Reference Librarian: Jim Clasper 556-1452, jim.clasper@uc.edu

 

 

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 05/06/08