DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

 

INDUSTRIAL DESIGN - HUMAN FACTORS


Reference Books : Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks

Human Factors Design Handbook. Wesley E. Woodson.
DAAP Ref TA166 .W57 1992

Occupational Ergonomics Handbook
DAAP Ref TA166 .O258 1999

Handbook of human factors and ergonomics / edited by Gavriel Salvendy
DAAP Ref TA166 . H275 2006

The handbook of human factors and ergonomics methods / [edited by] Neville Stanton ... [et al.]
DAAP Ref TA166 .H275 2005

Human dimension and interior space. Julius Panero.
DAAP Reference Oversize NA2542.4.P356 1979 c.2

Anthropometry for designers / edited by staff of Anthropology Research Project, Webb Associates
DAAP Reference & Stacks GN51 .W45 v.1

Finding books:

Use UC Library Catalog to locate books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries.

Search for publications by subject headings such as:

Human Engineering
Human Factors
Anthropometry
Design, Industrial - psychological aspects
Design - psychological aspects

Ergonomics/human factors call number area: TA166
Industrial Design History call number area: TS171

NOTE: the catalog is not used to find journal articles. To find articles, use an article index.


Finding Journal Articles

Major scholarly journals concerned with research on human factors issues:

Applied Ergonomics
Ergonomics : the official publication of the Ergonomics Research Society
Human factors : the journal of the Human Factors Society
International journal of industrial ergonomics


Identifying articles on a topic:

Use the Indexes below to identify articles in journals on human factors topics:

Ergonomics Abstracts Connect

You'll see boxes for username and password, but you don't have to enter anything there to do a search. It's there if you want to personalize your use of the database. You can simply click on the word "SEARCH" in the pink box on the left side of the screen to begin searching.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center Connect

Full text: all topics, mostly science and engineering

PsycINFO Connect

Produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages

Design & Applied Arts Index Connect
Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals published between 1973-2002, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.

Journals specifically on human factors topics that are available full text online:

Ergonomics

Human factors

International journal of industrial ergonomics

Applied Ergonomics

Go to Full Text Journals and enter title of journal in the search box

Obtaining articles:

If the Index does not provide a link to the Library catalog or to the article online,
or if you have an article citation from another source:

To find an article full-text online, search by the name of the journal (not the title of the article) at this link: Full Text Journals. This will identify a database which provides full text of that journal and the dates covered.

To find an article in a paper journal, search the Library Catalog by the name of the journal. The catalog will identify the volume numbers, dates and location of journals owned by UC Libraries.

Conference Proceedings

Proceedings are the official record of lectures and papers presented at an organization's conference.


**The Engineering Library subscribes to the Proceedings of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, as well as the proceedings under the society's former name, Proceedings of the Human Factors Society.

Example : Title : Proceedings of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society

Or, search the name of the organization as author.

Example : International Ergonomics Association

If you have difficulty locating Conference Proceedings, ask a librarian in DAAP or Engineering for help.

 

Determining terms to use in searching the indexes

For example, in researching studies on the ergonomics issues of cell phones, some terms to use might be:

handheld
portable
keypads
numeric keypad
telephone keypad
push button
LCD display
cellular telephone
mobile phone
information display
information layout
one-handed keyboards
calculators
PDA
personal digital assistant
pointing device
remote controls
remote pointing
dexterity
hand-arm stress
older adults
impaired vision

Web Sites

CORE Industrial Design Network: http://www.core77.com/
Industrial Designers Society of America: http://www.idsa.org/

Ergoweb: http://www.ergoweb.com/index.cfm
The Ergonomics Society: http://www.ergonomics.org.uk/
Design Management Institute http://www.dmi.org/dmi/html/index.htm
Design Management Institute Bulletin :
http://www.dmi.org/dmi/html/publications/news/ebulletin/index.htm

Engineering Library : http://www.libraries.uc.edu/libraries/engr/index.html
For reference resources on Industrial Design try their subject guideL: Industrial Engineering

Reference Librarian: Jim Clasper 556-1452, jim.clasper@uc.edu

 

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 09/25/08