DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
Libraries

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

GRAPHIC DESIGN


Finding books:

Use UC Library Catalog to locate books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries

For publications by or about a designer, try Author and Subject search in UCLID/OhioLINK:

Bass, Saul
Thompson, Bradbury

To find chapters about a designer within a book on a broader topic, also search by keyword:

Sumner Stone
Lester Beall

Search for publications by subject headings such as:

Graphic arts
Graphic arts - United States - History - 20th century
Commercial art
Commercial artists
Color advertising
Type designers
Type and type-founding

You may also search under specific movements, such as Art Deco or Art Nouveau, or under names of individual designers. There might not be a book on your designer, so look for books on design history or design type. Many design resources might be located in other UC libraries, CAS for computer information, and Langsam for film and cinematography.


Call number areas for browsing in the stacks:  NC 970 - NC 1003 & Z 200 - Z 250


NOTE: the catalog is not used to find journal articles. To find articles, use an Article Index.

 

References Resources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Directories

Area / [editor, Valérie Vago-Laurer ; project editor, Patrick Busse]
"100 graphic designers, 010 curators, 010 design classics"
DAAP Reference  NC998 .4 .A74 2003

Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 165,000 people from throughout history,
around the world, and across all subject areas.

Contemporary Designers
DAAP Reference NK1166.C66 1990

Contemporary Masterworks
DAAP Reference N6490.C65675 1991

Design Encyclopedia
DAAP Reference NK1370.B93 1994b

Dictionary of Art
and DAAP Reference N31.D5 1996

Dictionary of 20th Century Design
DAAP Reference NK1390.P53 1990

Graphic Design for the 21st Century
DAAP Reference NC998.4 .F524 2003

Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
DAAP Reference NC997 .L54 2003

Twentieth Century Type Designers
DAAP Reference Z250 .A2C3 1995

Typography : when, who, how
DAAP Reference  Z118 .T95 1998

Who's Who in Graphic Design
DAAP Reference NC999.2 .W56 1994

 

Finding Articles in Journals:

Identifying articles on a topic:

Use the Indexes below to identify articles in journals on graphic design topics:

Art Abstracts
Provides abstracting and indexing for 313 leading international visual art serial publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history.  1929 to the present.

Artbibliographies Modern
Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. 1974 to the present.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Begun in 1990 with the merger of Repertoire d'art et d'archeologie (RAA) and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA), BHA provides the most comprehensive coverage of art history literature. Indexes articles from all types of publications including over 2,500 periodicals, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, Festschriften, exhibition and art dealer's catalogs, doctoral dissertations, collected essays, and museum publications. Coverage includes European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Indexes a large number of foreign periodicals and provides some abstracts written by art professionals..

Design and Applied Arts Index
Indexes articles from more than 500 design and craft journals published 1973 to the present, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewelry, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.

 

Obtaining articles:

If the Index does not provide a link to the Library catalog or to the article online,
or
if you have an article citation from another source:

To find an article full-text online, search by the name of the journal (not the title of the article) in the Online Full Text Journal Finder. This will identify a database which provides full text of that journal and the dates covered.

To find an article in a paper journal, search the Library Catalog by the name of the journal. The catalog will identify the volume numbers, dates and location of journals owned by UC Libraries.

 

Web Sites

abctypography

American Center for Design

The American Institute of Graphic Arts: founded in 1914, calls itself "the oldest and largest national organization committed to the promotion of excellence in graphic design." There are 37 chapters nationwide with over 9,000 member graphic designers and related professionals.

Communication Arts
Graphic design news, competitions, and jobs.

The Graphic Artists Guild: is a support organization for graphic artists. Includes news, information on copyright, contracts and other useful and practical topics.

International Typeface Corporation

DAAP Library Visual Resources Page
The library provides access to a wide variety of digital and analog images.

 

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 05/06/08