DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
Libraries

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

FASHION

Finding books:

Use UC Library Catalog to locate books, periodical titles, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries

For publications by or about a designer, try Author or Subject search in UCLID/OhioLINK:

Rhodes, Zandra
Saint Laurent, Yves

To find chapters about a designer within a book on a broader topic, also search by keyword:

Donna Karan
Ralph Lauren

Search for publications by subject headings such as:

Fashion--History--20th Century
Fashion--Japan
Fashion--Forecasting
Fashion designers--United States
Clothing trade
Costume designers
Textile designers

Many fashion design books are found in the TT section of the stacks and oversize books and "fashion history" is in the GTs.

NOTE: the catalog is not used to find journal articles. To find articles, use an Article Index.

Search strategy tips for finding information in periodicals about fashion from RMIT Library

 

Finding Articles in Journals using Indexes & Databases

Identifying articles on a topic:

Use the Indexes below to identify articles in journals on fashion design topics:

Research Library
Indexes more than 2,500 general interest and academic periodicals in all fields, and provides full text access to many of them. Indexing begins about 1970.
Indexes Vogue 1988 to the present and provides fulltext online for April 2005 to the present.
Indexes Harper's Bazaar 1988 to the present and provides full text online for 1999 to the present.

Academic Search Premier
Contains full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications and includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes articles from over 500 journals in all disciplines.
Indexes Vogue 1984 to the present and provides fulltext online for 2004 to the present.

Business Source Premier
This database provides full text for over 2,710 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Indexes WWD.

Design and Applied Arts Index
Indexes the journals: Fashion Theory, Fiberarts

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States 1890-1962.

New York Times, 1851-2001
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Searching other newspapers : Additional databases that index newpaper articles are listed on the Newspaper Articles section of the Article Resources page of the Library's website.


Obtaining articles:

If the Index does not provide a link to the Library catalog or to the article online,
or if you have an article citation from another source:

To find an article full-text online, search by the name of the journal (not the title of the article) in the Online Full Text Journal Finder. This will identify a database which provides full text of that journal and the dates covered.

To find an article in a paper journal, search the Library Catalog by the name of the journal. The catalog will identify the volume numbers, dates and location of journals owned by UC Libraries.

 

Online Subscriptions for Fashion Publications

WWD Online/Print
This major trade publication is available for browsing in the DAAP Library and online as well. Ask Library staff for the password to access the online version. 

The Library subscribes to WWD in a variety of formats:

Print:  Current copies of WWD are retained in the Library for three months.  Library copies are generally a day or so behind the online version.

Electronic:  The library subscribes to WWW.com online and you have access via password to the last ten issuesonline

Electronic/archived information: Back issues of WWD can be accessed through a variety of databases that UC subscribes to:

from 01/01/1983 to 7 days ago in Business & Company Resource Center

from 01/03/1989 to present in Factiva

from 1995 to 06/30/2006 in Business & Industry

from 1996 to 2000 in Business & Industry

from 1997 to 2002 in Contemporary Women's Issues

from 1997 to 2002 in OhioLINK Contemporary Women's Issues

from 01/04/1999 to 7 days ago in General Business File ASAP

from 12/29/2000 to 10/18/2006 in ABI/INFORM Complete

from 05/19/2004 to present in Business Source Complete

The Fashion Service Forecast from Doneger Creative Services. On Reserve in the DAAP Library TT500. W6.  Ask Library staff for the password to access the online version. 

 

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Directories

Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 165,000 people from throughout history,
around the world, and across all subject areas.

CONTEMPORARY DESIGNERS
DAAP Reference NK1165.C66 1984
A fairly comprehensive guide to contemporary designers, including
fashion. Each entry includes a short biography with a list of exhibitions,
major works, and publications written BY and ON the particular
designer. A short essay about their work is also included.

CONTEMPORARY FASHION
DAAP Reference TT505.A1 C66 1995
A comprehensive guide to contemporary fashion designers. Each entry
includes a short personal and professional biography, bibliographic
citations by and about the designer, and if possible, a statement by
the designer on his or her own work or design philosophy, as well as
a critical essay by a scholar or critic in the field of fashion and
costume history.

COSTUME REFERENCE
DAAP Reference GT730.S48 1977b (Vols. 1-10)
Guide to the history of costume beginning with the Roman influence
and ending in the present day. This guide explores the changes which
have occurred through time in the clothing of men, women and children
of each period dealt with.

THE FASHION BOOK
DAAP Reference Oversize TT503.F3 1998
An A-Z guide to 500 clothes and accessory designers, photographers,
models and iconic individuals spanning 150 years. Each entry is illustrated
with a photograph or drawing which shows the "quintessential aspect" of
their work.

THE FASHION ENCYCLOPEDIA
DAAP Reference TT503.H68 1982
Encyclopedia dealing specifically with terms related to fashion design
and the fashion industry from A to Z.

GARMENT AND TEXTILE DICTIONARY
DAAP Reference TT494.C66 1997
An essential dictionary for anyone in the textile industry. Contains over
3,5000 easy-to-understand definitions of key garment and textile terms
arranged alphabetically. Includes phonetic pronunciations and extensive
cross-referencing. Contains a special section on garment and textile
defects. Appendices include garment and textile associations, vendors,
and Internet resources.

MCDOWELL'S DIRECTORY OF TWENTIETH CENTURY FASHION
DAAP Reference TT505.A1 M37 1985
Contains a short introduction to the history of fashion. A directory which
covers the major designers from A through Z includes a short biography
of each. Also included is a directory of the "Image Makers", or major
fashion photographers of the twentieth century, each also accompanied
by a short biography. Guides to fashion education, fashion organizations
and fashion awards.

THE ST. JAMES FASHION ENCYCLOPEDIA: A Survey of Style from 1945
to the Present.

DAAP Reference TT505.A1 S7 1997
Revised edition of Contemporary Fashion (1995). Includes a fashion
chronology, nationality index, and appendix of brief descriptions of a
number of fashion houses, designers, merchandisers, photographers, and
other contributors to the world of fashion.

WHO'S WHO IN FASHION
DAAP Reference TT505.A1 S74 2004
Short biographies of this century's most noted names to know, foreign
and American designers.

World of Fashion: People, Places, Resources
DAAP Reference TT515.L16
Short histories of fashion all over the world. Each country's entry varies
in the information provided, but some of the pertinent areas include
centers of fashion education, costume and fashion archives, fashion
publications, fashion designers and firms, trade associations and
organizations and fashion influential.

Fashion Forecasting by Evelyn L. Brannon
DAAP Reference GT 511 .B73 2005

The world of fashion / Jay Diamond, Ellen Diamond
DAAP Reference TT518 .D52 2002

 

Web sites

FashionNet

First View

History of Fashion

Sportswear International

 

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 05/06/08