DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 


Education Multimedia
II : Basic Graphic and Web Design Sources


Images

Web sites:

Office Clip Art http://office.microsoft.com/clipart/default.aspx

DAAP Library Visual Resources page
http://www.libraries.uc.edu/libraries/daap/resources/visualresources/index.html

University Libraries Images and Sound Web page
http://www.libraries.uc.edu/research/images_sound/index.html

Books:

DAAP Library Picture Reference section near the photocopiers :
books containing illustrations and photos, many copyright free

Graphic and Web Design subject headings to search in the catalog
and call number areas to browse in the stacks:

Graphic arts
NC 800 - NC1000

Graphic design (Typography)
Layout (Printing)
Z100 - Z250

Computer graphics
Color computer graphics
T385

Color in design
NK1548 (primarily)

Visual communication
P93.5

Human-computer interaction
User interfaces (Computer systems)
QA76.9

Color -- psychological aspects
Various call numbers, primarily: BF789, ND1280, ND1495, QP483

Recommended Books

Creating graphics for learning and performance : lessons in visual literacy / Linda L. Lohr

Designing instructional text / James Hartley

The non-designer's Web book : an easy guide to creating, designing, and posting your own Web site / Robin Williams and John Tollett

The non-designer's design book: design and typographic principles for the visual novice / Robin Williams

The non-designer's type book : insights and techniques for creating professional-level type / Robin Williams

The elements of user interface design / Theo Mandel

The designer's guide to color combinations : 500+ historic and modern color formulas in CMYK / written and designed by Leslie Cabarga ; color layouts by Leslie Cabarga and Rose Bevans

www.color / Roger Pring ; series consultant, Alastair Campbell

Simple Web sites : organizing content-rich Web sites into simple structures / [Stefan Mumaw]

 

Finding periodical articles in graphic and digital design

Identifying articles on a topic:

Use the Indexes below to identify articles in journals on graphic and digital design topics:

Art Abstracts, 1929 to present

Artbibliographies Modern, 1974 to present

Design and Applied Arts Index, 1973 to present


Obtaining articles:

If the Index does not provide a link to the Library Catalog or to the article online, or if you have an article citation from another source:

To find an article full-text online, search by the name of the journal (not the title of the article) in the Online Full Text Journal Finder. This will identify a database which provides full text of that journal and the dates covered.

To find an article in a paper journal, search the Library Catalog by the name of the journal. The catalog will identify the volume numbers, dates and location of journals owned by UC Libraries.

These indexes and databases are also accessible from the University Libraries Web page:
http://www.libraries.uc.edu/
Click on Article Resources in the QuickLinks

Web sites

http://www.usability.gov/
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
"Your resource for designing usable, useful and accessible Web sites and user interfaces"

Web sites listed on DAAP Library Graphic Design Subject Resources page
http://www.libraries.uc.edu/libraries/daap/resources/researchguides/design/graphicdesign.html

www.websitesthatsuck.com

 

 

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 05/06/08