Cambridge Ancient
History
Langsam and Classics Reference & Stacks D57 .C25 1970 (14 Volumes)
Read all about the political, social, and general history of the era in
which the art was created. This is very important background from an authoritative,
but very readable source.
Larousse Encyclopedia
of Archaeology
Langsam Stacks CC165 .C4513 1983
Get the archaeological angle painlessly in here. There will be a very
readable chapter relevant to the time and place of your paper. Other archaeology
reference books that may also be of interest are shelved nearby.
An Encyclopedia of
the History of Classical Archaeology
Classics Reference DE5 .E5 1996
This book bills itself as the first of a kind. Along with articles on
individual archaeologists and the history of the excavation of various
places, it has pieces on well-known collectors and museums and on the
history of famous individual objects like the Portland Vase or the Belvedere
Apollo-where they were found, how they ended up where they are now, their
importance in art history. Arrangement can be confusing, but it has a
full index. Archaeology of neighboring regions like Egypt and the Ancient
Near East is excluded.
Masterpieces of Greek
Art
DAAP Stacks N5630 .S35 1965
This is a catalog of the most familiar works of Greek art in all forms.
Each item comes with a superb illustration and a one page essay. There
are, most unfortunately, no bibliographies. It makes for inspirational
looking if you haven't selected a topic yet. Any item in here would make
an excellent choice.
Atlas of the Greek
and Roman World in Antiquity
Classics Reference Oversize G1033 .A84 1981
Atlas of the Classical
World
Classics Reference Oversize DE29 .H46
Yes! Atlases! This is not a misprint. Once you have selected your object
and/or decided on your topic, see where it fits geographically. It really
is very interesting.
Early Greek Myth:
A Guide to Literary & Artistic Sources
Classics Reference BL782 .G34 1993
When you need detailed background on a Greek myth, this is the book to
use. It tells which ancient authors relate a particular story, how their
versions differ, and exactly where in their works you can find their accounts.
It also discusses how the myths are represented in ancient art and describes
specific examples (vase paintings, sculpture, etc.)
Oxford Companion to
Classical Literature
Classics Reference DE5 .H3 1989
Intended to provide background information for readers of ancient literature:
the composition and contents (and sometimes judgments) of individual authors'
works (useful summaries), and sketches on myths and mythological characters.
Includes a useful timeline situating literary works in their historical
context. Gives cryptic guidance on pronunciation of classical names.
Civilization of the
Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome
Classics and Langsam Reference DE59 .C55 1988 (3 Volumes)
Unlike the Oxford Classical Dictionary or the Oxford Companion, the focus
here is on broad themes, not isolated facts. Essay-length articles by
leading American and British scholars on topics like "Roman divination,"
"Food and Foodstuffs," "Book Production" are grouped
under headings like "Economy," "Private and Social Life,"
etc. Very brief chronological overviews of Greek and Roman history precede,
along with a timeline from 2000 B.C. to A.D. 529 giving historical and
literary milestones.
Dictionary of Classical
Mythology: Symbols, Attributes & Associations
DAAP and Classics Reference BL715 .B44 1982
Dictionary of Classical
Mythology
Classics Stacks BL715 .Z5
Gods and Mortals in
Classical Mythology
Classics and OCAS Stacks BL715.G67 1973
These three are a few of many such dictionaries. Most will be found in
the same general area, BL 715. These are particularly good illustrations
and work together well. They are useful sources of summary and explanation
for you if you are researching an artwork with a classical theme or iconography.
Classical Mythology,
Sixth Edition
Online & Classics Stacks BL722 .M67 1999
DYABOLA is the online computer
file to accompany the book. The site offers users of the book a large
number of resources and information. Chapter-specific activities and links
allow students to explore the web and engage in exercises that focus on
the key elements of each part of the book. Reference materials such as
bibliographies, glossaries, and maps provide support for research and
further learning. The site even has a growing list of new translations
provided by the authors.
Dictionary of Subjects
and Symbols in Art
DAAP Reference N7560 .H34 1974
This is exactly what it sounds like it is. It provides brief definitions
on a wide range of subjects, objects, and concepts encountered in Western
art.
Dictionary of Pictorial
Subjects from Classical Literature
Classics Reference N7760 .P68 1983
This is a truly unique work. It links pictures/scenes with their possible
classical literary references.
Greek and Roman Art,
Architecture, and Archaeology: An Annotated Bibliography.
Classics Reference N5610 .C65 1987
This is where you find out what's good out there to read! It is a quick
way to find out what books are most likely to be helpful without having
to look at them all yourself. There are two editions of this, shelved
side by side. You should use both as there will be items in either not
in both. It is arranged by rather broad subtopics, but not difficult to
browse. The annotations are very useful. It is limited to books.
Guide to Research
in Classical Art and Mythology
Classics Reference N7760 .V3 1991
This is a rather chatty guide for the novice reader. It identifies the
core sources/ authorities in the field. It will tell you whom to go to
for what and what's best to use for what!