Daap Library DAAP Home Page University Libraries Home Page
University Libraries Images UC Home Page
DAAP Library

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

Art Reproductions -- Finding Images in Books

Searching for Images

When searching for a reproduction of a specific artist's work or a specific title, a good place to start is a general reproduction index.   The indexes below (Indexes and Databases) provide information on selected artist's works and the published source where they have been reproduced.   Keep in mind that the exact image desired may not be found because the reproduction may not have been indexed or the piece of art may not have an existing reproduction.   If you are unable to find the artist or the work in any of these sources, try looking for books on the artist, if he or she is known, in the Library Catalog.

Indexes and Databases      

General Sources

Art full Text (Art Abstracts). Connect
This standard periodical index has the broadest coverage, including all styles and periods of art. Indexes articles from approximately 300 major art periodicals dealing with such topics as art, photography, architecture, landscape architecture, museums, and urban planning. Articles are listed by author and subject. Includes book reviews and illustrations that are indexed under the artist.

Index to Art Reproductions in Books  
DAAP Reference N7525.H48 1974
Index to reproductions of paintings, sculpture, graphic art, photography, stage design, and architecture from 65 selected books published from 1956-1971.   The guide is divided into two parts: the first is a name index; the second is a title index.   Sources include location as well as the size of the reproduction.  

Contemporary Art and Artists: An Index to Reproductions 
DAAP Reference N6490.P3234
This index gives a listing of reproductions for artwork from around the world from 1940 to the mid-1970s.   The guide pulls from over 60 books and exhibit catalogues.   Divided into three parts, indexing is arranged by artist, subject and title.  

Index of Christian Art Connect
This index is a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects to 1400 begun at Princeton University in 1917. The database contains works indexed by the archive since 1991. The database is both text and image, and several thousand images are available to public.

Post-Biblical Saints Art Index
DAAP Stacks N8079.5.R63 1994
Indexes art of over 4200 post-biblical saints and 5000 works of art created from the 4 th century to 1950.   The index includes paintings, sculptures, mosaics, icons, frescoes, manuscript illuminations, sketches, woodcuts and engravings and the holding institution of each work.

Women in the Fine Arts: A Bibliography and Illustration Guide
DAAP Reference Z7963.A75 A47 1991
Indexes reproductions of painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, and crafts by women artists from the Renaissance through the 1980s.   The guide also lists periodical, exhibition catalogues, newspapers and book citations for each artist as well as general reference listings by author.   

The Black Artist in America: An Index to Reproductions 
DAAP Reference N6538.N5 T46 1991
Indexes reproductions of fine art, prints, drawings, collages, assemblages, and other media from black artists.   The index also includes biographical information on the artist and reproductions of their portraits.   Includes those born and those who made their home in America, from the Colonial period to the present.   Also included in the text are lists of books, journal articles, bibliographies, doctoral dissertation, audiovisual materials and exhibition catalogues which pertain to Black art and artists as well as a subject index.  

Index to Two-Dimensional Art Works
DAAP Reference N7525.K67 v. 1-2
This guide indexes 35000 reproductions of two-dimensional art in all media, including etchings, tapestries, mosaics, murals, collages and paintings.    The index includes information from over 250 books published between 1960 and 1977. Volume 1 is an artist index; volume 2 is a title/subject index.

Index der antiken Kunst und Architektur (Index of Ancient Art and Architecture)  
CLASS Microforms N5615.I53 1991
Index includes 2714 fiche of the classical art images from the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut. Römische Abteilung.   Includes photos of restored and unrestored versions of the same object.

Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae 
CLASS Reference NX650.M9 L48 v. 1-10 1999
Encyclopedia of art representing classical figures and personages.   Part II of every volume has extensive black-and-white plates.   Each entry also suggests other literature illustrating the object.


Painting

World Painting Index
DAAP Reference ND45.H38 v. 1-2
DAAP Reference ND45.H38 Suppl. 1 v. 1-2
DAAP Reference ND45.H38 Suppl. 2 v. 1-2
DAAP Reference ND45.H38 Suppl. 3 v. 1-2
Volume one for all editions gives a bibliography, lists paintings by unknown artists, and painters and their works.   Volume two for all editions is a title index.   The first edition, dating to 1977, indexes 1167 books and catalogues published between 1940 and 1975.   The first supplement, dated 1982, adds 617 books and catalogues published through 1980.   The second supplement, dated 1995, adds 697 books and catalogues published between 1980 and 1989.   The third supplement adds 951 books and catalogues published between 1990 and 1999.  

Index to Reproductions of European Paintings: A guide to pictures in more than three hundred Books 
DAAP Reference ND45.M6 c.2
This guide offers an index to pictures by European artists that are reproduced in a select 328 books published before 1953.   Painting reproductions are indexed by artist's name, distinctive title, and subject.

Index to Reproductions of American Paintings: A guide to pictures in more than eight hundred books
DAAP Reference ND205.M57 c.2
This index provides a list of works by American artists that appear in 520 books and 300 exhibition catalogues published before 1948.   Painting reproductions are indexed by artists' name, title, subject, as well as unidentified artist.  

Index to Reproductions of American Paintings First Supplement: A guide to pictures in more than four hundred books
DAAP Reference ND205.M57 c.2 Supplement
The supplement continues the indexing of American Paintings from 1948 to 1961 and lists paintings of artists reproduced in more than 400 general books on art and individual artists, as well as museum and special exhibition catalogues.   The guide is indexed by artists' name, title, subject, as well as unidentified artist.   

Index to Reproductions of American Paintings appearing in more than four hundred books, mostly published since 1960
DAAP Reference ND205.S575
This index continues the listing of American Painting reproductions published after the publication of the above supplement.   It covers reproductions that appeared in more than 400 books primarily published in the 1960s and 1970s.   Painting reproductions are indexed by artist and subject.

In Index of Early Chinese Painters and Painting: T'ang, Sung, and Yüan
DAAP Reference ND1040.C24 2003
Indexes the paintings of the T'ang, Sung, and Yüan periods in English transliteration and Chinese language publications.   Information on present ownership, reproduction sources, artist information, and painting type, date and assessment are presented, as is a bibliography.

Barockthemen: eine Auswahl von Verzeichnissen zur Ikonographie des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts
DAAP Reference N6415.B3 P5y 1974
Index of themes in Baroque Painting in the 1700s and 1800s.   Lists work of art under subject heading and gives a complete bibliographic citation.    

Sculpture

Sculpture Index
DAAP Reference NB36.C55 v. 1-2
This is a guide for locating pictures of sculptures in approximately 950 publications.   Sculpture reproductions are indexed by artist's name, distinctive title, and subject.   The index includes portrait sculpture, architecture, church furniture, and decorative objects from prehistoric times to up through the 1960s.   Volume 1 of the index covers sculpture of Europe and the contemporary Middle East. Volume 2 is in two parts, A-G and H-Z, and covers sculpture of the Americas, the Orient, Africa, the Pacific and the classical world.

Illustration and Prints

The New Hollstein Dutch and Flemish Etchings, Engravings and Woodcuts 1450-1700
DAAP Stacks NE663.H65 1993
Index includes bibliographic references as well as a listing of locations.   Entries are illustrated and include descriptions.

Illustration Index
DAAP Reference N7525.A66.V3 1966
DAAP Reference N7525.A66.V3 1980

Illustration Index V: 1977-1981
DAAP Reference N7525.A66 1984

Illustration Index VI: 1982-1986
DAAP Reference N7525.A66 1988

Illustration Index VII: 1987-1991
DAAP Reference N 7525.A66 1993
This guide provides a subject index to illustrations appearing in popular journals and some books from approximately 1950 to 1991.   Each subsequent edition updates and broadens the coverage of the previous titles.  

American Printmakers 1880-1945: An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information
DAAP Stacks NE507.W53 1993
Indexes reproductions of printmakers who were born or worked in America from 1880-1945.  The index includes reproduction information, biographical citations and art books and catalogues for each artist, a general bibliography, and subject index.  

American Printmakers 1946-1996: An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information
DAAP Stacks NE508.B76 1999
Indexes reproductions of printmakers who were born or worked in America from 1946-1996.  The index includes reproduction information, biographical citations and art books and catalogues for each artist, a general bibliography, and subject index.  

The Print Council Index to Oeuvre-Catalogues of Prints by European and American Artists
DAAP Reference Z5947. A3 R53 1983
Index to "oeuvre-catalogues" (any listing of the artist's total output in prints, prints in one technique, or prints made up to a certain date) of particular artists up to 1972.   Arranged alphabetically according to the name of the artist, monogram or figure, or publisher with catalogs and sources listed in chronological order thereafter.   Good source for copies of hard to find items.

Print Index: A Guide to Reproductions
DAAP NE90.P17 1983
Guide to locating illustrations of prints dating from the early 1700s through the mid-1970s that appear in 100 English language books, exhibition catalogs, and collection catalogs.   The index is divided into two parts: The first is an artist index; the second is a subject/title index.    

Architecture

Index to Italian Architecture: A Guide to Key Monuments and Reproductions Sources
DAAP Reference NA111.T4 1992
Index to reproductions over 1800 works of architecture in 80 books.   Architectural works are indexed according to site, architect, chronology, type, and by work name.   Includes exterior and interior views, plans, sections, and elevations for architectural works dating from prehistoric times to the 1980s.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. Connect
This periodical index is one of the most comprehensive reviews of architecture and related subjects available. Indexes articles from more than 1,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals, including four important American architectural periodicals, American Architect, Architectural Forum, Architectural Record, and Progressive Architecture, from their first publication date. It has a broad international scope and covers architectural history, design, and practice; archeology; interior design; landscape concerns; city planning; and historic preservation. Located on the Index Shelves and through OhioLINK

World Architecture Index: A Guide to Illustrations
DAAP Reference NA202.T4 1991
The guide indexes by building site, architect, type of work, and name of work.   The index also presents the sources for about 7200 architectural works reproduced in more than 100 books.   It provides sources for exterior and interior views, plans, sections, and elevations.   The guide is international in coverage and covers most historical periods and styles.

Photography

AP Images (UC access only) Connect
An electronic library containing the current year's photo reports from the Associated Press and a selection of photos from their 50 million-image print and negative library.

Photography Books Index: A Subject Guide to Photo Anthologies
DAAP Reference TR199.M67

Photography Books Index: III, A Subject Guide to Photo Anthologies
DAAP Reference TR199.M67 2006
Index of twenty-two selected photography books.   The index is divided into three sections.   Section 1 is an alphabetical list of photographers with titles of their works.   Section 2 is a subject index.   Section three is a list of portraits of named individuals subdivided into "Children," "Men," and "Women."   This index continues with a supplement published in 1985, which indexes twenty-eight additional photography books.  

Photography Index: A Guide to Reproductions
DAAP Reference TR199.P37
Guide to locating reproductions of photographs dating from the 1820s to the 1970s that appear in over 80 major books and exhibition catalogs dealing with artistic, journalistic, and documentary photography.   The index is divided into three parts: part one is a chronological listing of works by unknown photographers; part two is an alphabetical listing of known photographers; part three is a detailed subject/title index.

Encyclopedias

The Dictionary of Art Connect
DAAP Reference N31 .D5 1996 (10 volumes) & Online Link to The Grove Dictionary of Art
Provides extensive world-wide coverage of art, art styles, subjects, and media in addition to biographies of both Western and Non-Western artists, patrons, critics, and collections. Includes over 41,000 signed articles that provide bibliographic data and are usually illustrated. Volume 34: Index contains extensive cross references to additional material.

Encyclopedia of World Art
RWC Reference: N31.E6 v. 1 - v. 17
Gives listings for subjects, chronological periods, artist name, cultural identification or name and object type.   Includes black and white illustrations as well as color plates.   Information on bibliography, holding institution and location, general information and representative works is also presented.  

The Encyclopedia of World Costume
DAAP Reference GT507.Y37
Gives an alphabetical listing of types of costuming, accessories, materials, and cultural and societal type.   Bountiful black and white illustrations and color plates.

 

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 07/25/08