Use the
SUBJECT or AUTHOR search in the library catalog to look up
individual artists (enter last name, first name). It is important
to spell the name correctly. Also try a search under the
broad subject heading "Artists-Biography" in the SUBJECT
search. If you know the country, medium, or time period of an
artist, you may be able to find information under these more
general categories:
Painting, modern-19th century-France
Art full Text (Art Abstracts). Connect
This standard periodical index has the broadest coverage, including all styles and periods of art. Indexes articles from approximately 300 major art periodicals dealing with such topics as art, photography, architecture, landscape architecture, museums, and urban planning. Articles are listed by author and subject. Includes book reviews and illustrations that are indexed under the artist.
Art Bibliographies Modern. Connect
This standard periodical index is primarily concerned with contemporary artists and events, concentrating on all aspects of art, design, and photography. Indexes articles from approximately 330 serials plus Festschriften (anthologies of articles dedicated to or honoring an individual, for example on a birthday), dissertations, exhibition catalogs, gallery publications, and artists’ books. Includes abstracts and has good coverage of European artists and obscure artists. From 1969-1988, it covered art created since 1800, while in 1989, it became more narrowly focused on art since 1900 and dropped architecture.
Bibliography of the History of Art. Connect
Begun in 1990 with the merger of Repertoire d’art et d’archeologie (RAA) and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA), BHA provides the most comprehensive coverage of art history literature. Indexes articles from all types of publications including over 2,500 periodicals, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, Festschriften, exhibition and art dealer’s catalogs, doctoral dissertations, collected essays, and museum publications. Coverage includes European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Indexes a large number of foreign periodicals and provides some abstracts written by art professionals. RILA is still available in print from 1975 to 1989.
Artist
Biographies Master Index
DAAP Ref N40.A78 1986
Biographical
Dictionary of Artists
DAAP Ref N40. B53 1995
Biographical
Dictionary of Women Artists in Europe and America
DAAP Ref N6757.D86 1989
The Dictionary of Art Connect
or DAAP Reference N31 .D5 1996 (10 volumes)
Provides extensive world-wide coverage of art, art styles, subjects, and media in addition to biographies of both Western and Non-Western artists, patrons, critics, and collections. Includes over 41,000 signed articles that provide bibliographic data and are usually illustrated. Volume 34: Index contains extensive cross references to additional material.
Dictionary
of Women Artists
DAAP Ref N8354.D53 1997
Encyclopedia
of World Art
RWC Reference: N31.E6
Index
to Artistic Biography
DAAP Ref N40.H38
Latin
American Women Artists
DAAP Stacks: Z7963.A75 P84 1996
St. James
Guide to Black Artists
DAAP Ref N40 S78 1997
St. James
Guide to Native North American Artists
DAAP Ref E98.A7 S8 1998
Who's
Who in Art
DAAP Stacks: N40.W6
AskArt.com
information
about 30,00 American artists
The fine arts search engine. |