DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
Libraries

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

Art Education


Finding Books

Use the Library Catalog to locate books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries.

Search for publications using the following Library of Congress subject headings:

Art – study and teaching
Art and society
Art in Education
Artists as teachers
Curriculum planning – United States

DAAP Library also has subscriptions to many important journals (magazines) in art education and related fields. Most of the journals in the DAAP Library will provide you with theoretical as well as practical hands-on information concerning art education. Browsing the current journal collection will provide you with ideas for projects. A title search in the catalog will indicate journal location, as well as dates of available back issues. Other journals (e.g. Chronicle of Higher Education) are available online and can also be located with a title search in the catalog.

Reference Resources

DAAP Library has a large collection of specialized reference books on art, architecture, design, fashion and related topics. If you need a definition of a style or period of art, biographical information on an artist, or simply need to understand a term used in art, then you need to consult a reference book. The DAAP Library also has access to online reference resources. These resources provide the user with the opportunity to view images as well as locate information on a particular topic.

Two very helpful online resources include:

Oxford Reference Online Connect
Provides access to 100 Oxford dictionaries and reference works. Includes web links for further sources of information.

The Dictionary of Art Connect
Provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with constant additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.

Web Sites

These web sites may be helpful to art educators by providing tools to be used for the development of an art curriculum and art lessons.

NAEA – National Art Education Association
<http://www.naea-reston.org/>
The NAEA is a non-profit, education organization comprised of art educators from all levels of instruction. The purpose of the NAEA is to promote art education through professional development, service, advancement of knowledge, and leadership.

ArtsEdNet – The Getty Foundation
<http://www.getty.edu/artsednet/>
This online service developed by the Getty Education Institute for the Arts, supports the needs of the K-12 arts education community – helping arts educators, general classroom teachers using the arts in their curriculum, museum educators, and university faculty involved in the arts. Covers advocacy, professional development, curriculum development, and theory development (advocating the use of discipline-based art education).

Finding articles in Journal Using Indexes and Databases

Using the periodical indexes on OhioLINK, you can search art and education sources for periodical articles on a particular subject, educator, or educational theory.

Art full Text (Art Abstracts) Connect
This standard periodical index has the broadest coverage, including all styles and periods of art. Indexes articles from approximately 300 major art periodicals dealing with such topics as art, photography, architecture, landscape architecture, museums, and urban planning. Articles are listed by author and subject. Includes book reviews and illustrations that are indexed under the artist.

Education Abstracts Connect indexes core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in education. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues, including government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based, and information technology. Education Abstracts cites articles in English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English language books related to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed.

ERIC Connect indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK, use the connect below.

*ERIC uses a specialized thesaurus of terms. Unless you are familiar with the thesaurus, or wish to use it, uncheck the "check keywords in thesaurus" box, which appears above the keyword search.

Serials and Print Resources

The DAAP Library subscribes to several serial publications, which are of interest to art educators. These publications offer educators a variety of resources, from discussion of art education theory to activities for the classroom.

Art Education (Journal of the National Art Education Association)
Provides articles on teaching techniques, as well as philosophies. Also contains information on educational resources that are available for purchase.

Arts & Activities
Provides activities related to, or drawing from, techniques, artists, and subject matter. Includes instruction on how to present lessons to a class, as well as how to fit the lessons into the curriculum.

Arts Education Policy Review
This journal is a forum for the discussion of policy issues. It presents analyses and recommendations concerning arts teaching from pre-kindergarten through the 12th grade. Articles address current as well as resurfacing issues in arts education. This journal does not promote individuals, methods, or products.

School Arts
This publication provides art-related activities as well as editorials from other readers. It also includes a section devoted to obtaining certain types of supplies, such as paints or brushes.

Studies in Art Education (full text online--available from the Library Catalog)
This is a journal of research and issues. It explores theoretical and practical aspects of art criticism, artistic growth, curriculum and learning, program evaluation, and other educational dimensions of the visual arts.

 

 

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 08/19/08