DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
Libraries

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

AFRICAN AMERICAN PHOTOGRAPHERS

Use the Library Catalog/OhioLink to search for publications relating
to African American photographers. Publications on this
subject are classified in several different areas of the library
collection. Useful subject headings to search include:

Afro American Photographers
Afro Americans Pictorial Works
Afro Americans in Art Afro American Civil Rights Pictorial Works
Harlem Photographers
Harlem Renaissance
Photography Artistic
Under names of individual photographers, example: Gordon Parks

General Information Sources

Bush, Martin H. THE PHOTOGRAPHS OF GORDON PARKS.
Wichita, Kan.: Edwin A. Ulrich Museum of Art,
Wichita State University, c1983.
TR647.P37 B87 1983 DAAP Stacks

Campbell, Mary Schmidt; Driskell, David; Lewis, David;
Willis-Ryan, Deborah.
HARLEM RENAISSANCE : ART OF BLACK AMERICA.
New York: The Studio Museum in Harlem and Harry N. Abrams, 1987.
N6538.N5 H286 1994 DAAP Oversize

Campbell, Mary Schmidt.
TRADITION AND CONFLICT, IMAGES OF A TURBULENT DECADE,
1963-1973
.
New York: The Studio Museum in Harlem, 1985.
N6538.N5 T7 1985 DAAP Stacks

CENTURY OF BLACK PHOTOGRAPHERS, 1840-1960. [edited by]
Valencia Hollins Coar. [Providence, R.I.] :
Museum of Art, Rhode Island School of Design, c1983.
TR646.U6 P763 1983 DAAP Reference

CONSTRUCTED IMAGES, NEW PHOTOGRAPHY : AN EXHIBITION.
organized by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture;
curator, Deborah Willis; [essay by Kellie Jones]. [New York, N.Y.] :
The Center, New York Public Library, c1989.
TR646.U6 N47 1989 DAAP Stacks

DeCarava, Roy, and Hughes, Langston.
THE SWEET FLYPAPER OF LIFE
. Washington, D.C. :
Howard University Pres Reprint 1984.
Elliston Poetry Room - Library Use Only

DeCock, Liliane, and McGhee, Reginald. JAMES VAN DER ZEE.
Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Morgan and Morgan, 1973.
TR654.V3 DAAP Stacks

Dodson, Owen, and Billops, Camille.
THE HARLEM BOOK OF THE DEAD JAMES VAS DER ZEE.
Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Morgan and Morgan, 1978.
GT3211.N48 V36 DAAP Stacks

Driskell, David. TWO CENTURIES OF BLACK AMERICAN ART.
New York :
Los Angeles County Museum of Art and Alfred A. Knopf, 1976.
N6538.N5 D74 DAAP Reference

Durham, Michael S. (Michael Schelling), 1935- .
POWERFUL DAYS: THE CIVIL RIGHTS PHOTOGRAPHY OF CHARLES MOORE.
Text by Michael S. Durham; introduction by Andrew Young.
New York : Stewart, Tabori & Chang; [Rochester, N.Y.] :
Professional Photography Division, Eastman Kodak; New York, N.Y.
Distributed in the U.S. by Workman Pub., 1991.
E185.61.D94 1991 Langsam Stacks

Fax, Elton C. BLACK ARTISTS OF THE NEW GENERATION.
New York : Dodd Mead, 1971. N6538.N5 F29 DAAP Stacks

Fox, Ted. SHOWTIME AT THE APOLLO. New York :
Holt, Rinehart and Winston, Inc., 1983.
PN2277.N52 A684 1983 Langsam Stacks

Gershgoren, Sid. THROUGH THE SKY IN THE LAKE.
Sayings by Sid Gershgoren; pinhole photographs by George Peer.
Minneapolis, Minn.: Milkweed Editions, 1990.
PN6271.G47 1990 DAAP Stacks

Haskins, James, 1941- .
JAMES VAN DER ZEE : THE PICTURE TAKIN' MAN. by Jim Haskins.
Trenton, N.J.: Africa World Press, c1991.
TR140.V37 H37 1991 DAAP Stacks

Higgins, Chester Jr., and Coombs, Orde.
SOME TIME AGO: A HISTORICAL PORTRAIT OF BLACK AMERICANS,
1850-1950
.
New York: Anchor Press, 1980.
E185.S593 1980 Langsam Stacks

Moutoussamy-Ashe, Jeanne.
VIEWFINDERS : BLACK WOMEN PHOTOGRAPHERS
.
by Jeanne Moutoussamy-Ashe. 1st ed.
New York : Dodd, Mead, c1986.
TR139.M63 1986 DAAP Stacks

Parks, Gordon. A CHOICE OF WEAPONS.
New York, Harper & Row [1966].
PS3566.A75 Z5 1966 Langsam Stacks

Roberts, Richard Samuel.
A TRUE LIKENESS : THE BLACK SOUTH OF
RICHARD SAMUEL ROBERTS, 1920-1936.

edited by Thomas L Johnson and ip C. Dunn.
Columbia, S.C.: B. Clark; Chapel Hill, N.C. :
Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, c1986.
TR680.R63 1994 DAAP SW Depository

Siskind, Aaron. HARLEM DOCUMENT :
PHOTOGRAPHS 1932-1940
.
Aaron Siskind; foreward, Gordon Parks; text from
Federal Writers Project; edited by Ann Banks.
1st ed. Providence, R.I. : Matrix Publications, 1981.
F128.68.H3 S57 1981 DAAP Stacks

Schoener, Allon. HARLEM ON MY MIND:
CULTURAL CAPITAL OF BLACK AMERICA 1900-1968.

New York, Dell, 1979.
F128.68.H3 S3 1979 Langsam Stacks

SONGS OF MY PEOPLE : AFRICAN AMERICANS :
A SELF-PORTRAIT
.
Edited by Eric Easter, D. Michael Cheers, and Dudley M. Brooks;
introduction by Gordon Parks.
Boston : Little, Brown, 1992.
E185.86.S66 1992 DAAP Oversize

Indexes and Databases

To find articles about African American photographers, search by
the photographer's last name or by the following subject headings
in Art full Text (Art Abstracts). Connect

Photography, Black
Photographers, Black


CALLALOO
A Black South Journal of Arts and Letters. Baton Rouge, L.A
Callaloo, 1976-. Print Version: Langsam Journals, 1989 to present
OhioLINK: 1995 to present
J-STOR: 1976 to 1994

Reference Resources

AFRICAN AMERICAN RESOURCES.
Cincinnati: Greater Cincinnati Library Consortium, 1997.
Z1361.N39 A376 1997 DAAP Reference.
This guide is designed to assist students and researchers of all
levels in locating information on African Americans. The guide
provides a Pathfinder Guide of general information as well as
sections devoted to standard reference works, distinctive
collections of major sets of microforms and manuscripts in the
Cincinnati area as well as a listing of African American periodicals
and journals available in Libraries in the Cincinnati area.

Willis-Thomas, Deborah. BLACK PHOTOGRAPHERS, 1840 -1940:
AN ILLUSTRATED BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHY.

New York, Garland: 1985. TR139.W55 1985 DAAP Reference.

Willis-Thomas, Deborah.
AN ILLUSTRATED BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BLACK PHOTOGRAPHERS,
1940-1988
. New York, Garland: 1989.
TR139.W55 1989 DAAP Reference.
These publications are essential source books for the study of
individual African American photographers. Entries include
biographical information, some illustrations, and a selected
bibliography. It is the only resource of its kind available to
researchers seeking information on this subject.

CONTEMPORARY PHOTOGRAPHERS.
New York: St Martin's Press, 1995.
TR 139.C664 1995 DAAP Reference.
Provides biographical information on well-known African American
photographers. Entries include a bibliography, list of exhibitions,
a signed critical essay, and often a statement by the photographer.

 

Web Sites

Smithsonian Institution- African American history and culture.

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 07/24/08