DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
Libraries

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

African American Artists

The Library Catalog /OhioLINK

To locate books on individual African American artists,
look up the artist's name in the author or subject sections
the Library Catalog/OhioLINK. For collections or general information,
try some of the following subject headings:

Artist search:

Lawrence, Jacob
Ball, James Presley

Subject search using Library of Congress Subject Headings:

Afro-American Artists
Afro-American Women Artists
Afro-American Art

General Information Sources

AFRICOBRA: THE FIRST TWENTY YEARS.
Atlanta, Georgia: Nexus Contemporary Art Center, 1990.
N6538.N5.A3 1990 DAAP Stacks

AGAINST THE ODDS: AFRICAN-AMERICAN ARTISTS AND THE
HARMON FOUNDATION.
Newark, New Jersey: Newark Museum, 1989.
N6538.N5.R49 1989 DAAP Stacks

BLACK ART ANCESTRAL LEGACY:
THE AFRICAN IMPULSE in AFRICAN-AMERICAN ART.
Dallas, Texas: Dallas Museum or Art and New York:
Harry Abrams, 1989.
N6538.N5 B525 1989 DAAP Oversize

BLUES AESTHETIC BLACK CULTURE AND MODERNISM.
Washington D.C.: Washington Project for the Arts, 1989.
N6538.N5 1989 DAAP Stacks

HARLEM RENAISSANCE: ART OF BLACK AMERICA.
New York: The Studio Museum in Harlem, 1987.
N6538.N5 H286 1994 DAAP Oversize

INTERROGATING IDENTITY.
New York: Gray Art Gallery and Study Center,
New York University, 1991.
N5303.I68 1991 DAAP Oversize

JACOB LAWRENCE: THE FREDERICK DOUGLASS AND
HARRIET TUBMAN SERIES OF 1938-40.
Hampton, Virginia: Hampton University Museum, 1991.
ND237.L29 W48 1991 DAAP Stacks

MEMORY AND METAPHOR: THE ART OF ROMARE BEARDEN.
1940-1987.
New York: Studio Museum in Harlem, 1991.
N6537.B4 A4 1991 DAAP Stacks

SECRETS, DIALOGUES, REVELATIONS: THE ART OF BETYE
AND ALISON SAAR.
Los Angeles: Wight Art Gallery, University of California, 1990.
N6537.S2 A4 1990 DAAP Stacks

Many other notable books on African-American art and artists
have been recently added to the library's collection. To locate
other books on individual artists, look up the artist's name in
the author and subject sections of UCLID.

Indexes and Database

Electronic indexes are available through Find Journals link. To find articles on African-American artists in magazines, look up the artist's last name or search under the
following subject headings:

Art, Black
Artists, Black
Blacks in America
Blacks in the United States

Art full Text (Art Abstracts). Connect
This standard periodical index has the broadest coverage, including all styles and periods of art. Indexes articles from approximately 300 major art periodicals dealing with such topics as art, photography, architecture, landscape architecture, museums, and urban planning. Articles are listed by author and subject. Includes book reviews and illustrations that are indexed under the artist.

CALLALOO
A Black South Journal of Arts and Letters. Baton Rouge, L.A
Callaloo, 1976-. Print Version: Langsam Journals, 1989 to present
OhioLINK: 1995 to present
J-STOR: 1976 to 1994

THE INTERNATIONAL REVIEW OF AFRICAN AMERICAN ART
Covers many media events and focuses on African-American art and culture.
DAAP: NX164.B55 B5 (1984-present)

Reference Resources

Davis, Lenwood G. and Sims, Janet.
BLACK ARTISTS IN THE UNITED STATES: AN ANNOTATED
BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BOOKS, ARTICLES, AND DISSERTATIONS ON
BLACK ARTISTS 1779-1979.
Westport Ct: Greenwood Press, 1980.
Lists 476 books, catalogs, articles, reviews, and dissertations
on black artists and their work in the United States. Annotated
entries are grouped as major and general books, articles and
dissertations. Includes a listing of
"Black Artworks in the National Archives."
Z5956.A47.D38 DAAP Reference

Igo, Lynn Moody.
250 YEARS OF AFRO-AMERICAN ART: AN ANNOTATED
BIBLIOGRAPHY.
New York: Bowker, 1981.
A comprehensive bibliography of over 25,000 citations ranging
from the popular to the scholarly, and including crafts as well
as fine arts. Three main sessions include: basic bibliography,
subject bibliography, and artist bibliography.
Z5956.A47.I38 DAAP Reference

Jenkins, Thomas H.
INVISIBLE AFRICA DESIGN VISIBLE: A LIBRARY BIBLIOGRAPHICAL
ESSAY AND GUIDE TO AFRICAN ARCHITECTURE, PLANNING, ART,
AND DESIGN.
Africana Journal, 1987.
Lists books, articles, and reports on African-based planning,
architecture and design in the Cincinnati-Dayton Northern Kentucky
metroplex libraries.
Z3508.A7 J46 1987a DAAP SW Depository

Riggs, Thomas, ed.
ST. JAMES GUIDE TO BLACK ARTISTS.
Detroit: St. James Press, c1997.
Contains biographical and career information, as well as brief
critical essays, on nearly four hundred of the most prominent black
visual artists.
N40.S78 1997 DAAP Reference

Thomison, Dennis.
THE BLACK ARTIST IN AMERICA: AN INDEX TO REPRODUCTIONS.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1991.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
N6538.N5 T46 1991 DAAP Reference

Willis-Thomas, Deborah.
AN ILLUSTRATED BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BLACK PHOTOGRAPHERS.
1940-1988. New York: Garland, 1989.
Provides biographical information, bibliographic citations and
illustrations of the work of important black photographers.
TR139.W55 1989 DAAP Stacks

 

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 07/24/08