DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
DAAP Library

Search



Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

Universal Design

 

Books

Use UC Library Catalog to locate books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries.

NOTE: the catalog is not used to find journal articles. To find articles, use an Article Index.

 

Subject Headings concerning Universal Design

universal design
barrier-free design
design for all
inclusive design
architecture and the handicapped
physically handicapped - housing
aged - dwellings
architecture and the aged
handicapped - housing
interior decoration - human factors
person-environment fit
people with disabilities - housing
older people - dwellings - designs and plans

Call number area to browse for books on Universal Design:   NA2545
Call number to browse for Human Factors / Ergonomics:     TA166

 

Identifying articles on a topic use the indexes below to identify articles in journals

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Connect

Ergonomics Abstracts Connect

PsycINFO Connect

SocINDEX with Full Text Connect


Sociological Collection Connect

Article Indexes/Databases for architecture

Electronic Journal Center Connect

Scopus Connect

Obtaining articles

If the index does not provide a link to the Library catalog or to the article online,
or if you have an article citation from another source:

To find an article full-text online, search by the name of the journal (not the title of the article) Full Text Journals. This will identify a database which provides full text of that journal and the dates covered.

To find an article in a paper journal, search the Library Catalog by the name of the journal. The catalog will identify the volume numbers, dates and location of journals owned by UC Libraries.

Major Research Journals on Design and Behavior

Environment & Behavior - HM206. E5 Langsam Stacks
Indexed in PsycINFO, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Periodicals Archive Online

Journal of Environmental Psychology - DAAP Journals,
Indexed in PsycINFO

Journal of Architectural and Planning Research - DAAP Journals
Indexed in PsycINFO, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals and Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition

Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA) Proceedings
DAAP Stacks TH6021.E65
Cumulative Index shelved with volumes in DAAP Stacks 

EDRA web site : http://www.edra.org/
The Environmental Design Research Association is an international, interdisciplinary organization, founded in 1968 by design professionals, social and behavioral scientists, students, educators, environmental managers and others. The purpose of EDRA is to improve the understanding of the interrelationships between people and their built environment along with the natural surroundings, and to help create environments responsive to human needs.

Universal Design / Accessibility Web Sites

ADA Accessibility Guidelines
http://www.access-board.gov/adaag/html/adaag.htm
Full text of the Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities, as amended.

ADA Home Page (U.S. Department of Justice)
http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/adahom1.htm
Technical assistance materials, new or proposed regulations, enforcement, certification of state and local building codes.

Adaptive Environments Center
http://www.adaptenv.org/
Material from the Adaptive Environments Universal Design Education Project.

Americans with Disabilities Act Document Center
http://www.jan.wvu.edu/links/adalinks.htm
 Documents from EEOC and the Department of Justice. FAQs and guides prepared by Cornell University.

Center for Universal Design
http://www.design.ncsu.edu/cud/
Publications, links to organizations, examples of design, principles/laws/standards.

Evan Terry Associates
http://www.evanterry.com/
Useful information on ADA and accessible design.

Beneficial Designs
http://www.beneficialdesigns.com/
On the Universal Trail Assessment Process.

 

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0016
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 07/30/09