DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
DAAP Library

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

 

Sustainable Processes

Organizations

Consortium on Green Design and Manufacturing - UC Berkeley.

BuildingGreen - Includes information designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve environmental performance of buildings. Includes: Environmental Building News and GreenSpec Product directory

GreenerBuildings - A free resource for environmentally responsible building development. Includes building design, construction, and operation; provides tools, action steps, and other resources that improve buildings' environmental performance reducing costs and negative health impacts.

iGreenBuild.com - Provides building professionals and concerned citizens with information about environmentally responsible building. Includes B.I.P.E.R., Building Industry Professionals for Environmental Responsibility, monthly e-Newsletter. Articles about sustainable building design for commercial and residential buildings. Green products, product reviews and samples.
Northwest Ecobuilding Guild - An association of builders, designers, homeowners, trades people, manufacturers, suppliers and others interested in ecologically sustainable building.


OIKOS - Includes REDI Guide - Resources for Environmental Design and other links. Promotes sustainable design and construction. Oikos is a Greek word meaning house.

Sustainable Sources - Available through Greenbuilder.com. Sustainable Sources provides resources that offer practical options to the conventional methods of building, community, travel, and more.

 

Design

Architecture in a climate of change: a guide to sustainable design / Peter F. Smith. Oxford; Boston: Architectural Press, 2005. Investigates renewable technologies, domestic energy sources, natural ventilation, lighting, life-cycle assessment, recycling. Includes case studies.
DAAP Reserves  NA2542.3 .S65 2005

The architecture of ecology / [editor, Maggie Toy]. London: Academy Editions; Lanham, MD: Distributed in the U.S. by National Book Network, 1997. Architectural design profile; 125.
DAAP Oversize   NA2542.35 .A74 1997

Climate responsive design: a study of buildings in moderate and hot humid climates / Richard Hyde. London; New York: E & FN Spon, 2000.
DAAP Stacks  NA2541 .H93 2000

Cradle to cradle: remaking the way we make things / William McDonough & Michael Braungart. 1st ed. New York: North Point Press, 2002. Focuses on the nature of sustainability and the transformation of human industry through ecologically intelligent design.
DAAP Stacks  TD794.5 .M395 2002  
DAAP Reserves  TD794.5 .M395 2002
CCM Office  TD794.5 .M395 2002   

Design for sustainability: a sourcebook of integrated, eco-logical solutions / Janis Birkeland. London; Sterling, VA: Earthscan Publications, 2002.
DAAP Stacks  GE350 .B57 2002

Design for the real world : human ecology and social change / by Victor Papanek; with an intro. by R. Buckminster Fuller. New York: Bantam Books 1973, c1971. Introduces the idea of an ethics of design.

DAAP Stacks  TS171.4 .P37 1984

Design outlaws on the ecological frontier / Chris Zelov, executive editor; Phil Cousineau, co-editor. Version 2.0. Philadelphia, PA: Knossus Publishing, c1997 and 2000 edition.
DAAP Stacks  NA2542.35 .D4585 2000

Design with nature / Ian L. McHarg. 1st ed. Garden City, NY; Published for the American Museum of Natural History [by] the Natural History Press, 1969. Helped to define the fields of landscape architecture, urban and regional planning, and ecological design. Discussion of mankind's place in nature and nature's place in mankind within the physical sciences and humanities. Offers a blueprint for a new, healthier relationship between the built environment and nature. (Classic).
DAAP Reserves  HC110.E5 M23 1992     
RWC Oversize  HC110.E5 M33 1992  
DAAP Stacks  HC110.E5 M33 1971  
ENGR Stacks  HC110.E5 M23 c.4
CAS Stacks  HC110.E5 M23 c.7 c.8

ECO-TEC: architecture of the in-between / Amerigo Marras, editor. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1999.
DAAP Reserves  NA2542.35 E34 1999
Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 06/24/08