Finding books:
Use the UC Library Catalog to locate books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries.
NOTE: the catalog is not used to find journal articles. To find articles, use an article index.
Useful Subject Headings in UC and OhioLINK CatalogsArchitecture - human factors
Architecture - environmental aspects
Architecture - psychological aspects
Architectural design - evaluation
Human ecology
Interior decoration - psychological aspects
Human beings - influence of environment
universal design
barrier-free design
design for all
inclusive design
architecture and the handicapped
physically handicapped - housing
aged - dwellings
architecture and the aged
handicapped - housing
interior decoration - human factors
people with disabilities - housing
older people - dwellings - designs and plans
Call number area to browse for books on Universal Design: NA2545
Call number to browse for Human Factors / Ergonomics: TA166
Handbook of Environmental Psychology. Edited by Daniel Stokols and Irwin Altman.
DAAP Reference BF353 .H26 1987 vols. 1 & 2
Handbook of Environmental Psychology. Edited by Robert B. Bechtel and Arza Churchman.
DAAP Reference BF353.H36 2002
Universal Design Handbook. Wolfgang Preiser, Editor in Chief.
DAAP Reserve NA2545.A1U55 2001
Architect's Room Design Data Handbook. Fred A. Stitt, editor.
DAAP Reference & Reserve NA 2750 .S73 1992
Environment & Behavior - HM206. E5 Langsam Stacks
Indexed in PsycINFO,
Avery Index to Architectural
Periodicals, Psychology
and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PCI
Full Text
Journal of
Environmental Psychology - DAAP Journals, Online
Indexed in PsycINFO
Journal of Architectural and Planning Research - DAAP Journals
Indexed in PsycINFO,
Avery Index to Architectural
Periodicals and Wilson
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition
Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA) Proceedings
-DAAP Stacks TH6021.E65
Cumulative Index shelved with volumes in DAAP Stacks
EDRA web site : http://www.edra.org/
The Environmental Design Research Association is an international, interdisciplinary organization, founded in 1968 by design professionals, social and behavioral scientists, students, educators, environmental managers and others. The purpose of EDRA is to improve the understanding of the interrelationships between people and their built environment along with the natural surroundings, and to help create environments responsive to human needs.
Identifying articles on a topic:
Use the Indexes below to identify articles in journals:
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Connect
Ergonomics Abstracts Connect
OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center Connect
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Connect
Scopus science and social science scholarly literature Connect
PsycINFO Connect
SocINDEX with Full Text Connect
Sociological Collection Connect
Obtaining articles:
If the index does not provide a link to the Library Catalog or to the article online,
or if you have an article citation from another source:
To find an article full-text online, search by the name of the journal (not the title of the article) in the Full Text Journals link This will identify a database which provides full text of that journal and the dates covered.
To find an article in a paper journal, search the Library Catalog by the name of the journal. The catalog will identify the volume numbers, dates and location of journals owned by UC Libraries.
Suggested Terms to use in searching for journal articles and books:
For spas & retreats:
•Restorative
•Well-being & environment
•Color & mood
•Therapeutic environment
•Wellness
•Stress; serenity
For art museums:
•Spatial organization & art
•Visitor behavior
•Visitor circulation
•Visitor movement patterns
•Wayfinding
For offices:
•Office environment
•Working space
•Workplace design
•Privacy & job satisfaction
•Lighting & productivity
For bars & restaurants
•Beverage consumption & psychology
•Sound environment
•Acoustics
•Social context behavior
•Lighting & mood
•Loudness
•Personal space
•Crowding
•Territoriality
•Spatial behavior
•Color & physical surroundings
•Color & psychological effects
For retail spaces:
•Consumer spatial behavior (instead of movement or circulation)
•Consumer behavior & environment
•Store atmosphere
•Customers & physical surroundings
It may also be useful to combine the above terms with any of the following terms:
architecture
interior design
environment
environmental effects
facility design