DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
DAAP Library

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

Policy and Context

Organizations

Architects / Designers / Planners for Social Responsibility (ADPSR ) - A national non-profit organization of architects, designers, planners, and related professionals.                   

Association for Environment Conscious Building (AECB) - Formed in 1989 to encourage environmental awareness within the UK construction industry.

BuildingGreen - Includes information designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve environmental performance of buildings. Includes Environmental Building News and GreenSpec Product directory.

Center for Livable Communities - Includes the Ahwahnee Principles and Ahwahnee Awards. The Local Government Commission (LGC) is an organization of elected officials from California and other states. In 1991 the LGC developed the Ahwahnee Principles. In 1997 the LGC developed the Ahwahnee Principles for Smart Economic Development. The Center for Livable Communities helps local governments and community leaders be proactive in their land use and transportation planning and adopt programs and policies that lead to livable and resource-efficient land use patterns. The center is a partner in the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Smart Growth Network.

The Cohousing Association of the United States- Cohousing communities balance home ownership with shared common facilities. Includes links to international and national projects, development issues, and news.

Global Green USA - US affiliate of Green Cross International. Resource Efficiency & Sustainable Communities for the Urban Environment (RESCUE). Works to create a global value shift toward a sustainable future. Promotes the cleanup and reuse of military facilities, promoting the safe and environmentally responsible destruction of chemical weapons, the "greening" of affordable housing, and the prevention of international natural resource-based conflicts.

The Hannover Principles by William McDonough

The Long Now Foundation - Established in 1996 to develop Clock and Library projects and to become a long-term cultural institution. The Long Now Foundation seeks to promote "slower/better" thinking and to foster creativity in the framework of the next 10,000 years.

Sustainable Buildings Industry Council (SBIC) - An independent, non-profit organization whose mission is to advance the design, affordability, energy performance, and environmental soundness of America's buildings.

U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) – A non-profit coalition. Programs include: LEED Green Building Rating system development; Greenbuild conference, Federal summit, standards and design practices.

 
Specialized Guidelines & LEED Certification

Use ENVI Guide: Building Codes and Regulatory Resources for links to specific building codes.

ASHRAE GreenGuide: an ASHRAE publication addressing matters of interest to those involved in green or sustainable design of buildings / David L. Grumman, editor. Atlanta, GA: American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, Inc., c2003. Includes green design techniques for plumbing, lighting, and HVAC systems.
ENGR Stacks TH880 .A84 2006 

Dictionary of environment and sustainable development / Alan Gilpin. Chichester; New York: Wiley, c1996.
LANGSAM Reference HC79.E5 G518 1996

The Environment Dictionary / David D. Kemp. London; New York: Routledge, 1998. Entry includes definition, illustrations and further reading list.
LANGSAM Reference GE10 .K45 1998

Environmental Design charrette workbook / The American Institute of Architects; author, Donald Watson. Washington, DC: AIA Committee on the Environment, c1996. "A report summarizing results and lessons learned from the 1995 Environmental Design Charrettes sponsored by The American Institute of Architects Committee on the Environment (AIA COTE) in 1995."                                                                                                                                 

DAAP Stacks NA2542.35 .W38 1996

The Environmental Dictionary: and regulatory cross reference / compiled by James J. King. 3rd ed. New York: Wiley, c1995.                                                                                                

ENGR Ref Dictnry KF3775.A68 K57 1995 LIB USE ONLY                                                  

HEALTH SCI Ref  WA 13 K53e 1995 

Environmental Encyclopedia / William P. Cunningham, ed. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, c1998.
Includes definitions, cultural movements, biographies, regional events, community actions and a short bibliography for each entry.   
CHEMBIOL Referencebiol GE10 .E57 1993     
LAW StacksK48 .E57 1993  

Environmental Encyclopedia / Marci Bortman, ed. Detroit: Gale/Thomson-Gale, c2003. v. (xxxii, 1641 p.): ill.; 29 cm.
RWC Reference GE10 .E38 2003  v.1 v.2

Green building advisor CD-ROM/ development, Building Green Inc., Design Harmony Inc., Sunnywood Designs. Version 1.1.2. Brattleboro, VT: Building Green Inc., c2002. An interactive CD-ROM-based software tool that helps users identify design strategies for use in specific building projects.
DAAP Reserves  NA2542.35 .G74 2002  CD-ROM Installed on DAAP CD-ROM computer

Green Building Guidelines - Contra Costa County Community Development Department. PDF files that can be downloaded. Home Remodeling Green Building Guidelines, New Home Construction Green Building Guidelines.

Green Building Products: the GreenSpec guide to residential building materials / edited by Alex Wilson and Mark Peipkorn. 2nd ed. Gabriola Island, BC: New Society Publishers, c2006.
CAS Stacks TH455 .G739 2006

Green building: project planning & cost estimating: a practical guide for constructing sustainable buildings: cost data for green materials, components & systems, special project requirements, financial analysis & incentives. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means, 2002. Includes resource efficient building systems, embodied energy, photovoltaics, solar energy.   

DAAP Stacks   TH880 .G74 2002

Green building: project planning & cost estimating: a practical guide to materials, systems & standards; green products--specifying & Assessing cost vs value; resource efficiencies, health, comfort & productivity; commissioning2nd ed. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means, c2006.                                                                        

DAAP Reference TH880 .G74 2006 LIB USE ONLY

The green guide to specification: an environmental profiling system for building materials and components / Jane Anderson, David E. Shiers with Mike Sinclair. 3rd ed. Oxford; Malden, MA: Blackwell Science, c2002. British focus, good for materials that will have a lower impact on the environment, ranked by usage based on life cycle assessment studies.
ENGR Stacks  TD196.B85 A53 2002

GreenSpec - Guideline specifications for environmentally considered building materials & construction.

GreenSpec binder: EBN product directory with manufacturer's literature.
Brattleboro, VT: Ebuild, Inc., c1999.  Available online via GreenBuilding.com - UCB only.

LEED-CI for commercial interiors: reference guide. Washington, DC: U.S. Green Building Council, c2005.
DAAP Reserves  TH880 .L44 2005

LEED-EB for existing buildings: reference guide. Version 2.0. 1st ed. Washington, DC: U.S. Green Building Council, c2005.
DAAP Reserves  TH880 .L443 2005

LEED-NC for new construction: reference guide. Version 2.2. Washington, DC: U.S. Green Building Council, 2005.

LEED design standards: a critical analysis / Todd R. Kiehn. Master's Thesis from Illinois Institute of Technology, 2004.                                                                                             

Request using Inter-Library Loan ILLiad

LEED reference guide for new construction & major renovations (LEED-NC) - Version 2.2. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: U.S. Green Building Council, 2003. LEED-NC is a green building rating system that was designed to guide high-performance commercial and institutional projects, with a focus on office buildings. Practitioners have applied the system to K-12 schools, multi-unit residential buildings, manufacturing plants, laboratories and other building types. The LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Green Building Rating System® is a voluntary national standard for developing high-performance sustainable buildings.
DAAP Reserves TH6025 .L44 2003

Multifamily Green Building Guidelines - Alameda County Waste Authority. PDF includes recommended measures and case studies.

Resourceful specifications: guideline specifications for environmentally considered building materials and construction methods. Emeryville, CA: Siegel & Strain Architects, c1998.
DAAP Stacks TD196.B85 R47 1998  Text    
DAAP Stacks TD196.B85 R47 1998  Disk                                                                                    

Smart Communities Network: Green Building - U.S. Department of Energy. Includes case studies, forums, conference dates and meetings, links to many government sites.

Sustainable building technical manual: green building design, construction and operations / Cosponsored by Public Technology, Inc., Green Building Council, and U.S. Department of Energy. Washington, DC: Public Technology Inc., c1996.                            

DAAP Reference NA7117.5 .P83 1996                                                                                        

U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC): Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) - Green Building Rating System. A voluntary national standard for developing high-performance sustainable buildings. LEED provides a framework for assessing building performance and meeting sustainability goals. See website for current standards: New Commercial construction and major renovation projects (LEED-NC). Existing Building operations (LEED-EB), Commercial Interiors projects (LEED-CI), Core and Shell projects (LEED-CS), Homes (LEED-H), Neighborhood Development (LEED-ND). See codes and the USGBC website.

WasteSpec: model specifications for construction waste reduction, reuse, and recycling / prepared by Triangle J Council of Governments. Research Triangle Park, NC: Triangle J Council of Governments, 1995.

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 06/24/08