DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
DAAP Library

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

Materials and Technology

Organizations

Ecological Design Institute: Van Der Ryn Architects - The Ecological Design Institute and Van der Ryn Architects create design solutions that link nature, culture, and technology. 

Rocky Mountain Institute - A non-profit research and educational foundation; the institute creates and helps individuals find new techniques for resource efficiency.

Sustainable energy systems in architectural design: a blueprint for green building / Peter Gevorkian. New York: McGraw-Hill, c2006. Includes solar power systems and materials.
CAS Stacks  TK1005 .G47 2006

Sustainability at the cutting edge: emerging technologies for low energy buildings / Peter F. Smith. Oxford; Boston: Architectural Press, 2007.
CAS Stacks NA2542.3 .S65 2007

Building Materials

Building inside nature's envelope: how new construction and land preservation can work together / Andy Wasowski, with Sally Wasowski; foreword by Darrel G. Morrison ; photography by Andy Wasowski. Oxford, UK; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
DAAP Stacks  TH4812 .W36 2000 

Certified Forest Products Council: Forest Certification Resource Center - Information about sustainable forestry, includes a directory of sustainably harvested lumber.

Earth construction handbook: the building material earth in modern architecture / Gernot Minke. Southampton [England]: WIT Press; Billerica, MA: Computational Mechanics, c2000.
ENGR Stacks  TH1421 .M665 2000 

The ecology of building materials / Bjorn Berge; translated from Norwegian by Filip Henley with Howard Liddell. Oxford; Boston: Architectural Press, c2000.
ENGR Stacks  TA403.6 .B4713 2000

Forest World -
Includes links to sustainable forest marketplace and woods of the world database.

Gaiam Real Goods solar living sourcebook.
Hopland, CA: Gaiam Real Good; White River Junction, VT: Distributed by Chelsea Green Pub. Co., 2005.

ENGR Reference  TJ810 .G345 2005

See Also: Real Goods solar living sourcebook and Real Goods solar living book.

Global Directory for Environmental Technology -
Site by Eco Source International. A guide to environmental products & services, national and international, organizations, conferences and publications from experts.

Green building handbook: a guide to building products and their impact on the environment
/ Tom Woolley.[et al.]. London: E & FN Spon, 1997-2000.
DAAP Oversize TA403.6 .G74 1997

Green building materials: a guide to product selection and specification
/ Ross Spiegel and Dru Meadows. 2nd. ed. New York: Wiley, 2006. Includes green product selection, specification, construction processes, LEED requirements, specifications process, and construction waste management.
DAAP Reserves  TH455 .S65 2006
DAAP Stacks TH455 .S65 2006

Green Building Materials Resource Guide (PDF) -
City of San Francisco guide.

Green Building Resource Guide
/ John Hermannsson. Newtown, CT: Taunton Press, 1997. Access a database of over 600 green building materials and products selected for their usefulness to the design and building professions, rather than merely their green material content.
CAS Reference TH455 .H47 1997                                                                                        

Green Seal - Directory of certified products.                                                     

Greenhomebuilding.com - Private site that focuses on the design and building of residential buildings.

Greening federal facilities: an energy, environmental, and economic resource guide for federal facilities managers / written by Sustainable Systems, Inc. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Energy, 2001-2005.
Electronic Resource Available Online  

Herman Miller Furniture - Environmental report and products.

Material ConneXion - Internet site for the newest building materials and processes.

The Sourcebook for sustainable design: a guide to environmentally responsible building materials and processes / Andrew St. John, editor. Boston, MA: Architects for Social Responsibility, c1992.
DAAP Stacks  NA2542.35 .S68 1992

Sweets Catalog - Products for general building and renovation. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, annual.

The technology of ecological building: basic principles and measures, examples and ideas / Klaus Daniels. English translation by Elizabeth Schwaiger. Basel; Boston: Birkhauser Verlag, c1997.
DAAP Oversize NA2542.35 .D3613 1997

The whole house book: ecological building design and materials / Pat Borer and Cindy Harris. Machynlleth: Centre for Alternative Technology, 2005.
CAS Stacks  TH4812 .H27 2005

Straw Bale Construction

Buildings of earth and straw: structural design for rammed earth and straw-bale architecture / Bruce King. Sausalito, CA: Ecological Design Press, 1996.
DAAP Stacks TH4818.A3 K56 1996 

Hot dirt, cool straw
/ James Grayson Trulove; Nora Richter Greer; Dennis Wedlick. NY: HarperCollins, 2001.
DAAP Stacks TH4818.A3 T78 2001  

Sustainable Building Sourcebook - Strawbale Construction -
Austin, Texas, Green Builder Program. An online resource for green building. Includes construction techniques, case studies, and materials use.

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 11/20/08