DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
Libraries

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

HEALTH CARE FACILITIES

Finding information in the library catalog : UCLID/OhioLINK

Use UCLID (University of Cincinnati Library Information Database) to find books on health care facility design and related materials. Publications on this subject are often found in many of the UC Libraries including Health Sciences, Nursing, DAAP and Langsam. Useful subject headings to search on UCLID include: 

Clinics
Halfway Houses
Health Facility Planning
Health Facilities — Design and Construction
Hospitals — Design and Construction
Hospital Design and Construction
Long Term Care Facilities
Medical Centers

Source to Consult

Miller, Richard L. Hospital and Healthcare Facility Design. New York, NY: W.W. Norton, 2002.
DAAP RA967.M487 2002.  


Indexes and Abstracts

Academic Search Complete OhioLINK (1865 to present) 

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals OhioLINK (1977 to present) 

The Avery Index is the most comprehensive index to architectural literature describing articles from over 1,000 periodicals in all areas of architecture. Search using the subject word (SW) option. Some useful search terms include: mental health facilities, health care buildings, hospices, nursing homes, hospitals, housing for the elderly. 

Business Source Premier 1886 to present

Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Sociological Abstracts OhioLINK (1963 to present) 

Provides access to articles from over 300 English language journals in the social sciences from 1983 to the present. Some useful search terms include: health risk assessment, maternal health services, hospitals/design and construction, and AIDS. This database will provide more information on psychological/ sociological aspects of health care rather than design issues.

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 09/16/08