DAAP Library Images DAAP Library Home UC LIbraries Home UC Home
Libraries

Search

Chat With A Librarian Email Assistance Phone Assistance Research Assistance

 

Architecture Images

ARCHITECTURE & INTERIOR DESIGN

Finding books

Use the UC Library Catalog to locate books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries.

 

Reference Resources

MacMillan Encyclopedia of Architects / Adolf K. Placzek, editor in chief. New York: Free Press, 1982. (4 volumes)
DAAP Reference NA40.M25 1982
Biographies of over 2400 architects and firms from ancient Egypt to present day architects born before 1931 or already deceased. A chronological list of works and a brief bibliography follow each article. An index of over 30,00 architectural works is at the end of the last volume.

Contemporary Architects / Muriel Emanuel, editor. Third edition. New York: St. James Press, 1994.
DAAP Ref Oversize NA680.C625 1994
International in scope, this covers living architects or those recently deceased and emphasizes architects and works of the last three decades.

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering, and Construction /

Joseph A. Wilkes, editor. New York: Wiley, 1988. (5 volumes)
DAAP Reference NA31.E59 1988
This serves as a good starting point for architectural terms, styles and people. Especially useful are lengthy articles on building types covering its history and characteristics. A bibliography follows each article for further research.

Sir Banister Fletcher's, A History of Architecture / Sir Banister Fletcher. 19th edition edited by John Musgrove. London: Butterworths, 1987.
DAAP Reference NA200.F63 1987
This is considered the standard reference work on architectural history. It is profusely illustrated with drawings, plans and photographs. Its very detailed index makes it a valuable reference for concise identification of architectural styles and characteristics.

Architecture and Building Online Reference Tools
"Architecture and Building is a guide to net sites on architecture, building and construction, design, housing, planning, preservation, facility management, energy and the environment, and landscape architecture, compiled by Jeanne Brown, University of Nevada Las Vegas Architecture Studies Library."

Handbooks

The following handbooks contain basic technical standards and requirements for designing, drawing and presenting building plans and details and include issues such as functional requirements of building types, energy conservation, designs for the handicapped, human scale, and dimensions of furniture and appliances, all presented with plans and sections.

Ramsey/Sleeper Architectural Graphic Standards / 10th edition. John Hoke, editor. New York: Wiley, 2000.
DAAP Reference TH2031.A48 2000

Time-saver Standards for Building Types / Joseph DeChiara. 3rd edition. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2001.
DAAP Reference NA2760.D42 2001

Interior Graphic and Design Standards / S.C. Reznikoff. New York: Whitney Library of Design.
DAAP Reserves and Oversize NA2708.R49 1986


Indexes to Journal Articles

Art Full Text (Art Abstracts). Connect
This standard periodical index has the broadest coverage, including all styles and periods of art. Indexes articles from approximately 300 major art periodicals dealing with such topics as art, photography, architecture, landscape architecture, museums, and urban planning. Articles are listed by author and subject. Includes book reviews and illustrations that are indexed under the artist.

Architectural Index Connect
This index provides citations to a small list of major architectural magazines and is particularly useful for locating information on recent building projects, and for locating information by geographic site or architect/designer. Coverage varies, but most periodicals are indexed from the early 1980's.

Architectural Periodicals Index
DAAP Reference Index Shelf Z5941.A73
Published in Great Britain, provides good coverage of major foreign and technical magazines not included in the other indexes. The entries are arranged by subject and include a brief description of the article. At the end of each volume are designer name, building name and topographical indexes. Especially helpful are the very specific building type categories subdivided by country and city. 1974 to the present.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. Connect
This periodical index is one of the most comprehensive reviews of architecture and related subjects available. Indexes articles from more than 1,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals, including four important American architectural periodicals, American Architect, Architectural Forum, Architectural Record, and Progressive Architecture, from their first publication date. It has a broad international scope and covers architectural history, design, and practice; archeology; interior design; landscape concerns; city planning; and historic preservation. Located on the Index Shelves and through OhioLINK

Home | Acceptable Use Policy | Contacts and Feedback

Copyright Information © University of Cincinnati

University of Cincinnati
DAAP Library
5480 Aronoff Center for Design and Art
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1335

This file was last modified on 09/09/08