|
|||
![]()
|
Planning - In Depth | ||
Basic GuidesDoing
Urban Research, by Gregory D. Andranovich, Gerry Riposa. Newbury Park,
Calif.: Sage Publications, 1993. Focuses on some of the theoretical
and practical knowledge needed to conduct research about cities. Includes
research design and data collection.
HT110.A56 1993 DAAP Reference Guidelines
for Preparing Urban Plans, by Larz T. Anderson. Chicago, Ill.: Planners
Press, American Planning Association, 1995. Includes bibliographical
references and index. Information
Sources in Urban and Regional Planning: A Directory and Guide to Reference
Materials, by Edward E. Duensing. New Brunswick, NJ: Center for Urban
Policy Research, 1994. An up-to-date annotated guide to the planning
literature. Includes computer software as well as print publication. Lists
planning organizations, organized by discipline. Covers titles published
since 1979. International
Handbook on Land Use Planning. Nicholas N. Patricios, ed. New York:
Greenwood Press, 1986. Includes bibliographies and index. Project
Reference File (Urban Land Institute). Washington, 1971-. Social
Science Reference Sources: A Practical Guide, by Tze-chung Li. 2nd
ed. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990. Approximately one third of the
volume covers social sciences in general. The rest of the volume is devoted
to the social science subdisciplines. Contains approximately 2200 entries.
Time-Saver
Standards for Residential Development. Joseph De Chiara, Julius Panero,
Martin Zelnik, ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1995. Urban
Planning, A Guide to Information Sources, by Ernest R. Alexander,
Anthony Catanese, and David S. Sawicki. Detroit: Gale Research Company,
1979. Restricted to comprehensive planning, integrating and coordinating
urban activities. Classic titles, emphasizing books. BibliographiesArchitecture
Series: Bibliography. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1978-1990.
This series contains material on architecture, landscape architecture,
the environment, and city planning. Cumulative author, subject, title,
and numerical indexes.
Z5941.A74 DAAP Reference Cities
and Towns in American History: A Bibliography of Doctoral Dissertations.
Arthur P. Young, comp. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. Geographical
and topical indexes to U.S. doctoral dissertations about cities and towns
in American history. Topics include urban planning and design, urbanization,
and housing. City
Planning Bibliography: A Basic Bibliography of Sources and Trends,
by George C. Bestor and Holway R. Jones. 3rd ed. NY: American Society
of Civil Engineers, 1972. Comprehensive annotated bibliography of books
on theory and practice. Useful for material before 1972. Council
of Planning Librarians Bibliographies.
#68 Planning Publications: An Annotated Bibliography and Reference Guide. More than 450 titles of planning reference works are listed and broken down into twenty-four categories including abstracting and indexing services, land use laws and regulations, transportation and parking and urban design. NA1.G7 1992 DAAP Reference History
of Urban and Regional Planning: An Annotated Bibliography, by Anthony
Sutcliffe. London: Mansell Publishing, 1981. Over 1,400 annotated entries
on planning history and 19th-century antecedents, individual planners,
aspects of urban and regional planning, planning in individual cities
and towns, and planning as a world movement. British emphasis. Housing
Policy: An International Bibliography, by Tony Newsom. London; New
York: Mansell, 1986. Journal
of Planning Literature. Columbus, Ohio: Ohio State University Press,
1986. Periodical
Literature on United States Cities. A Bibliography and Subject Guide,
by Barbara Smith Shearer. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983. Over
4900 selected periodical articles published from 1970-81 on the 170 U.S.
cities with a population of 100,000 or more. Public
Administration Series: Bibliography. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies,
1978-1991. Over 3,000 bibliographies in broad field of social science
and public administration. Useful as "door-openers" to topical subjects.
Quality varies. Generally not annotated. Cumulated indexes with author,
subject, and title. Urban
America Examined: A Bibliography, by Dale E. Casper. New York: Garland
Publishing Inc., 1985. A selective introduction to the literature of
urban studies in America. Chapter prefaces succinctly place some 2,000
citations in context. Annotations and listing of important sources are
very useful. Both subject and local research are covered, and are indexed
geographically and topically. Biographies of PlannersAmerican
Planner: Biographies and Recollections. Donald A. Krueckeberg, ed.
2nd ed. New Brunswick, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994. Biographies
of some of the leading city and regional planners in the U.S., 1890-1980.
Includes overview of American regional planning.
HT167.A5767 1983 DAAP Stacks HT167.A5767 1994 - Ordered for Fall Term Dictionary
of American Communal and Utopian History, by Robert S. Fogarty. Westport,
Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1980. Approximately half the volume is comprised
of brief biographies of 140 individuals who had prominent roles in the
development or leading of utopian communities. Also includes brief articles
on more than 200 utopian communites. Bibliography. Early
Urban Planning, 1870-1940. Richard LeGates and Frederic Stout, ed.
London: Routledge/Thoemmes Press, 1998. Encyclopedia
of Community Planning and Environmental Management, by Marilyn Spiegel
Schultz. New York: Facts on File, 1984. Concise, clearly written definitions
of over 2,000 concepts and terms. Also includes brief biographies of noted
planners. Includes photos, diagrams, illustrations. History
of Housing in the U.S., 1930-1980, by Joseph B. Mason. Houston: Gulf
Pub. Co., Book Division, 1982. Includes many brief biographies of American
planners and builders. International
Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. David L. Sills, ed. [New York]
Macmillan [1968]. Vol. 18: Biographical supplement (New York: Free
Press). Introduction
to Planning History in the United States. Donald A. Krueckeberg, ed.
New Brunswick, NJ: Center for Urban Policy Research, Rutgers University,
1983. Introduction to the history of the city planning profession from
its roots in the middle of the 19th century through its emergence around
the turn of the century to the present day. Important planners are introduced.
Urban
America: Documenting the Planners. Catalog of an exhibition at the
John M. Olin Library, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, October 21-December
31, 1985, held on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the City and
Regional Planning Program at Cornell. Compiled by Elaine D. Engst and
H. Thomas Hickerson. Ithaca, N.Y.: Dept. of Manuscripts and University
Archives, Cornell University Libraries, 1985. Catalog includes images
and biographical texts. The
Urbanists, 1865-1915, by Dana F. White. New York: Greenwood Press,
1989. Includes biographical information about early American planners.
Book ReviewsBook
Review Digest
OhioLINK: 1983 to present Book
Review Index Design
Book Review. Berkeley: Design Book Review, 1983--; quarterly. Informative
reviews in the "Cities" section, plus occasional reviews in the "History"
section. Journal
of Planning Education and Research. Champaign, IL: Association of
Collegiate Schools of Planning, 1981--; quarterly. See "book reviews"
section. Includes dissertation abstracts and reviews by planning educators.
Vol. 6, no. 3 (Spring 1987) includes cumulative index to vols. 1-6 (1981/82-
1986/87). Journal
of Planning Literature. Winter 1985/86--; quarterly. This excellent
publication lists and abstracts recent books and journal articles, arranged
by subject. Codes of EthicsAICP
Code of Ethics and Professional Principles. American Institute
of Certified Planners, Roster. Washington, D.C.: The Institute, 1980--;
biennial.
URL: http://www.planning.org/abtaicp/conduct.html NA9000.A54 1996/1997 DAAP Reference AICP/APA
Ethical Principles in Planning. American Institute of Certified
Planners Roster. Washington, D.C.: The Institute, 1980--; biennial.
Code
of Professional Conduct. Administrative Manual for Consulting Planners.
[Washington]: American Society of Consulting Planners, 1992, [pp.I-1 -
I-2]. Code
of Ethics. ULI Sourcebook. Washington, D.C.: ULI--the Urban
Land Institute. Annual. The membership directory of the Urban Land
Institute. Special features include a real estate information resource
list, ULI's Code of Ethics, and a buyers' guide. Dictionaries & GlossariesThe
City, A Dictionary of Quotable Thought on Cities and Urban Life, by
James A. Clapp. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University, Center for Urban
Policy Research, 1984. Drawn from the written and spoken words of over
1,000 writers, speakers, poets, politicians, architects, historians, etc.
Epigrams, epithets, verses, proverbs, scriptural references, etc.
HT111.C576 1984 DAAP Stacks Dictionary
of Development: Third World Economy, Environment, Society. Brian W.W.
Welsh and Pavel Butorin, ed. 2 vols. Garland Pub., 1990. Definitions
and descriptions of the major facts, concepts, events, and issues concerning
the Third World development process. Sources are cited. Housing:
A Multidisciplinary Dictionary, by Kamal S. Sayegh. Ottawa: ABCD Academy
Book, 1987. Contains more than 28,000 terms with short, explanatory
definitions. International Planning Glossaries. Gordon Logie, ed. New York: Elsevier; Hempstead, England: International Planning Glossaries. In English, French, Italian, Dutch, German, Swedish, Finnish. Comprises four volumes, each devoted to particular sectors of planning.
HT108.5 A24 DAAP Reserves The
New Illustrated Book of Development Definitions, by Harvey S. Moskowitz.
Piscataway, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research, 1993. Offers approximately1800
definitions and 600 commentaries, with a special focus on terms useful
in zoning and development ordinances. Urban
Public Transportation Glossary. Benita H. Gray, ed.; Subcommitee on
Urban Public Transportation Terms, Commitee...Washington, D.C.: Transportation
Research Board, 1989. Lists terms related to urban public transportation
planning and operations, with brief definitions. DirectoriesEducational
Organizations & Institutions:
Guide
to Graduate Education in Urban and Regional Planning. Association
of Collegiate Schools of Planning, 1984--; biennial. Lists 81 U.S.
and Canadian schools, 20 of which include PhD programs along with the
Master's program. Roster of faculty teaching at least 50% time. Information
tables include "school data," "admissions & curriculum," and faculty.
Guide
to Undergraduate Education in Urban Planning and Related Fields. Association
of Collegiate Schools of Planning, 1982--; irregular. Lists 51 U.S.
and Canadian schools offering an undergraduate degree in planning, as
well as 24 schools offering non-degree curricula. Professional Organizations: American
Institute of Certified Planners. Roster. 1980--; biennial.
Title and business address usually provided. Includes a directory of
other national planning associations. American
Planning Association. Membership directory. 1990--; irregular.
Asian
Planning Schools Association(Univ. of Hong Kong) Association
of Collegiate Schools of Planning Directory
of Metropolitan Planning Organizations and State Transportation Agencies,
prepared by John Hohl. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Transportation,
[1992]. Lists metropolitan planning organizations for transportation
serving major metropolitan areas in the U.S. International
Society of City and Regional Planners. List of members = Liste
des membres = Mitgliederliste. 1992--; annual. Includes professional
code of conduct. Urban
and Regional Information Systems Association. URISA membership
directory. 1980--; annual. Urban
Land Institute. ULI Sourcebook. Washington D.C.: ULI - the Urban
Land Institute. Annual. The membership directory of the Urban Land
Institute. Special features include a real estate information resource
lsit, ULI's Code of Ethics, and a buyer's guide. Directories of Governmental, Non-Governmental, & Research Organizations: CSG
State Directory. Directory III, Administrative Officials. Council
of State Governments, 1967--; biennial. Issued as Supplement 3 to The
Book of the states. Includes state-by- state listings of state planning
agencies and agencies the coordinate geographic information systems with
state government. The
Development Directory; a guide to the international development community
in the United States and Canada. Editorial PKG; 1988/89--; annual.
Lists organizations and individuals active in international development.
Identifies activity "sectors" ranging from agriculture, economics, and
housing to infrastructure, rural development, and urban studies. Directory
of Bodies Concerned with Urban and Regional Research. New York: United
Nations, Economic Commission for Europe, 1990--; irregular. Describes
organization of urban and regional research in Economic Commission for
Europe member countries. International governmental and non-governmental
organizations also included. Directory
of Information Resources in Housing and Urban Development. HUD USER,
1989. Includes descriptive listings of organizations involved with
housing and urban development. Directory
of Planning and Urban Affairs Libraries in the United States and Canada,
1990, Patricia Coatsworth, ed.. 5th ed. Council of Planning Librarians,
1990. Encyclopedia
of Associations. Gale Research Company, 1957--. Comprehensive
source of detailed information on more than 20,000 nonprofit American
membership organizations of national or regional scope. Indexed by name,
keyword, geography, and executive officer. The Web version is titled Associations
Unlimited. Information
Sources in Urban and Regional Planning: A Directory and Guide to Reference
Materials, by Edward E. Duensing. Center for Urban Policy Research,
1994. An up-to-date annotated guide to the planning literature. Includes
computer software as well as print publication. Lists planning organizations,
organized by discipline. Covers titles published since 1979. The
Municipal Year Book. International City/County Management Association,
1922--; annual. A handbook for city managers and other officials, it
is a practical guide to current policy issues, a compilation of statistics,
and a set of useful county and municipal directories, including phone
numbers. EncyclopediasAmerican
Business Climate & Economic Profiles: A Concise Compilation of Facts,
Rankings, Incentives, and Resource Listings, for all 319 Metropolitan
Statistical Areas (MSAs) and the 50 States. Gale Research, 1994. Socio-economic
data and narrative descriptions for major U.S. metropolitan areas. Data
collected from both governmental and non-governmental sources. Organized
by economic profiles for metropolitan areas by state, and by rankings
of metropolitan areas.
HC102.2.A44 1994 Langsam Reference Encyclopedia
of Community Planning and Environmental Management, by Marilyn Spiegel
Schultz. Facts on File, 1984. Concise, clearly written definitions
of over 2,000 concepts and terms. Also includes historical material, landmark
court cases, major legislation, and brief biographies of noted planners.
Includes photos, diagrams, illustrations. Acronyms and their meanings.
Encyclopedia
of the Third World, by George Thomas Kurian. 3 vols. Facts on File,
1992. Includes substantial readable articles on more than 100 Third
World countries. Encyclopedia
of Urban Planning. Arnold Whittick, Ed.-in-chief. McGraw-Hill, 1974.
In addition to defining terms and concepts used in urban planning,
identifies prominent names in the field and systematically covers planning
and its history in 48 countries where systems of planning legislation
and administration are maintained. Photographs, maps, and bibliographies.
British emphasis. Environmental
Planning: A Condensed Encyclopedia, by Alan Gilpin. Noyes Publications,
1986. Concise articles on international land use and planning. Particularly
strong for U.S., U.K., and Australia. Human
Settlement. John Rennie Short, general ed. Oxford University Press,
1992. Illustrated with excellent color photos, maps, and plans, this
overview of global human settlement explores various themes of regional
urban and rural settlement. One major city from each region is highlighted.
Third
World Guide: The World as Seen by the Third World. Editora Terceiro
Mundo. Irregular. Contains country-by-country profiles of the Third
World; includes countries you might not expect, e.g., Finland and the
Vatican City State. Each profile provides a narrative report and socioeconomic
and demographic facts and figures. Also includes thematic articles with
a Third World perspective; e.g., housing, global warming, cartography,
demography. World
Encyclopedia of Cities, by George Thomas Kurian. ABC-CLIO, 1993. Coverage:
Vol.l: United States, A-M, Vol.2: United States, N-Z, & Canada.
Indexes and AbstractsAmerica:
History and Life Art
Abstracts. Avery
Index to Architectural Periodicals. Business
Source Premier Eksitics
Index of Periodicals: Selected Articles from Periodicals on Human Settlements.
Environmental
Science & Pollution Management. Geographical
Abstracts. Human Geography. GPO
Monthly Catalog. Index
to Current Urban Documents. Public
Affairs Information Service (PAIS). Sage
Urban Studies Abstracts. Social
Science Citation Index. Urban
Affairs Abstracts. Internet ResourcesBlackader-Lauterman
Electronic Resources for Urban Planning
URL: http://blackader.library.mcgill.ca/urbanres.html Center
for Urban Planning Research City
of Cincinnati Planning Department Cyburbia.org--Internet
Resources for the Built Environment Design
Center for American Urban Landscape image bank Hamilton
County Regional Planning Commission and Rural Zoning Commission
Internet
Resources for Planning Research (Univ. of Calif., Berkeley,
Library) Planning
Resources on the Web Urban
Land Institute World
Development Indicators
Library CatalogsDictionary
Catalog of the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development,
Library and Information Division. Boston: G.K. Hall,1972. 1st Suppl.,
1974; 2nd Suppl., 1975. Coverage: 1934-197?. A catalog of one of the
richest and most diverse collections of literature on urban affairs and
community development. Includes books, pamphlets, slides, and films, as
well as local, state, federal and foreign documents. Provides unique access
to over 20,000 Comprehensive Planning Reports (Section 701 of the Housing
Act of 1954) in vol. 19 of the base set, and vol. 2 in Suppl. 1 and
2.
Z7164.H8 U4494 v.3 DAAP Reference Index Special CollectionsHousing
and Urban Affairs, 1965-. Glen Rock, N.J.: Microfilming Corp.
of America, 1977. Microfiche full text of 3,000 selected local planning
reports, research papers, etc., in the U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban
Affairs Library, 1965-1976.
Micro-fiche 209 Langsam Microforms
Z7164.H8 M5 Guide 1978 Langsam Reference HH 1.6:P 69/2 Langsam GovPub US "701"
Planning and Management: 39 Program Ideas [microform]. Washington,
D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Policy Development
and Research, [1978]. Urban
Documents Microfiche Collection. [Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press,
1973]. This unique collection of American and some Canadian local government
publications, including municipal documents (including school districts)
for cities, counties, and provinces. The Statistical SourcesU.S. Census Bureau County
and City Data Book American
Factfinder FedStats Statistical
Abstracts of the United States CIS
- Statistical Universe.
Published by the Congressional Information Service, this is a comprehensive guide and index to the statistical publications of the U.S. government. Indexed by names and subjects, and by categories (e.g., geographic breakdowns, demographic breakdowns), and by title. It includes statistics from the Department of Housing and Urban Development, indexed by subject, name, categories, titles, and agency report numbers. Also available in a print version, American Statistics Index (Z1223.Z7 A5 Langsam GovPub) URL: http://web.lexis-nexis.com/statuniv Index
to International Statistics. STAT-USA
Selected
Internet Resources on Statistics The DAAP Library gratefully acknowledges Deborah Sommer, City Planning Librarian at U.C.Berkeley, for developing this guide. | |||
![]() |
|||||
|
Please
send comments to: |
|||||