Indexes
and Abstracts
America: History and Life
Index to the history and culture of the US and Canada
Art
Abstracts.
A quarterly author and subject index to publications in the fields of
architecture, art history, city planning, landscape design and other
related subjects. 1984 to present.
Avery
Index to Architectural Periodicals.
Indexes articles on architecture in the widest sense, including city planning
and housing.
Business
Source Premier
Index to journals in business, management, finance and economics. Useful
source of information for city and regional planning, community development,
housing and transportation.
Catalog
of United States government publications
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cgp/index.html
EconLit
the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's
foremost source of references to economic literature. It is a reliable
source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to
1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets,
econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics,
monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
GPO
Monthly Catalog.
A current bibliography of publications issued by all branches of the government
including both the congressional and the department and bureau publications.
1976 to present.
Index
to Current Urban Documents.
The only guide to local government publications and documents issued by
and for municipalities. Includes some statistics and census information.
There are geographic and subject indexes.
Public
Affairs Information Service (PAIS).
Covers all subjects that bear on contemporary public issues and policy.
Indexes publications issued in the following six languages: English, French,
German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Emphasis is on factual and statistical
information. 1972 to present.
Sage
Urban Studies Abstracts.
Abstracts of important recent literature on all aspects of urban studies.
Langsam Periodicals: Current issues. Langsam Stacks: Bound
vols 1998 - . HT51.S24
SW Depository: 1973-1997
Social
Sciences Citation Index.
The subject of a search is symbolized by the starting reference rather
than a word or subject heading. The searcher starts with a reference or
an author identified through a footnote, book, encyclopedia or conventional
index. This publication enables the user to identify related writings. 1980
to present.
Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and
indexing of the international serials literature in political science
and its complementary fields, including international relations, law,
and public administration / policy.
Professional
Organizations:
American
Institute of Certified Planners. Roster. 1980--; biennial.
Title and business address usually provided. Includes a directory
of other national planning associations.
URL: http://www.planning.org/abtaicp/abtaicp.html
American
Planning Association. Membership directory. 1990--; irregular.
URL: http://www.planning.org/
Asian
Planning Schools Association(Univ. of Hong Kong)
URL: http://www.hku.hk/cupem/apsa/
Association
of Collegiate Schools of Planning
URL: http://www.acsp.org/
Directory
of Metropolitan Planning Organizations and State Transportation Agencies,
prepared by John Hohl. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Transportation,
[1992]. Lists metropolitan planning organizations for transportation
serving major metropolitan areas in the U.S.
Langsam GovPub TD1.20/10:92-12
International
Society of City and Regional Planners. List of members =
Liste des membres = Mitgliederliste. 1992--; annual. Includes
professional code of conduct.
URL: http://www.isocarp.org/
Urban
and Regional Information Systems Association. URISA membership
directory. 1980--; annual.
URL: http://www.urisa.org/
Urban
Land Institute. ULI Sourcebook. Washington D.C.: ULI - the Urban
Land Institute. Annual. The membership directory of the Urban Land
Institute. Special features include a real estate information resource
lsit, ULI's Code of Ethics, and a buyer's guide.
URL: http://www.uli.org/
HD257.U44 1994 DAAP Reference
Internet
Resources
Center
for Urban Policy Research
URL: http://policy.rutgers.edu/cupr/index1.htm
City
of Cincinnati Planning Department
URL: http://www.rcc.org/planning.html
Cyburbia.org--Internet
Resources for the Built Environment
URL: http://www.cyburbia.org/
Comprehensive starting place - Highly recommended
Design
Center for American Urban Landscape image bank
http://www.designcenter.umn.edu/imagebank/index.html
The Design Center Image Bank contains over 17,000 images, including
low-level oblique aerial photographs and eye-level images. The current
focus of the collection is the Twin Cities metropolitan region in Minnesota
and dates from the early 1990s through the present. Both built and natural
environments are included with many images of typical environments--such
as downtowns and suburban sprawl--that are relevant to other locations.
Hamilton
County Regional Planning Commission and Rural Zoning Commission
URL: http://www.hamilton-co.org/hcrpc/default.asp?NavBar=1
Internet
Resources for Planning Research (Univ. of Calif., Berkeley,
Library)
URL: http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/cityweb.html
KnowledgePlex
http://www.knowledgeplex.org/
"Created by a distinguished team of founding partners and implemented
by the Fannie Mae Foundation, KnowledgePlex® is designed to support
the efforts of practitioners, grantors, policy makers, scholars, investors,
and others involved or interested in the fields of affordable housing
and community development."
Planners
Web
URL: http://www.plannersweb.com/
Urban
Land Institute
URL: http://www.uli.org/DK/index.cfm
VCU's
Urban Studies and Planning Page (Virginia Commonwealth Univ.,
Dept. of Urban Studies & Planning)
URL: http://www.has.vcu.edu/usp/
Includes abstracts of articles in the latest issue of JAPA,
as well as links to other Internet sites.
Print guide to government sites:
Government information on the Internet / edited by Peggy Garvin ;
introduction by Greg R. Notess. Lanham, Md. : Bernan, c2003
DAAP Reference ZA5075.N69 2003
Statistical
Resources
U.S. Census Bureau
URL: http://www.census.gov/
County
and City Data Book
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html
American
Factfinder
Population, housing, economic and geographic data
URL: http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/BasicFactsServlet
FedStats
Gateway to statistics from over 100 Federal Agencies
http://www.fedstats.gov/
Statistical
Abstracts of the United States
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/
Statistical Resources
on the Web
Comprehensive gateway to statistical sources compiled by the Documents
Center, University of Michigan Library
URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stats.html
CIS - Statistical
Universe.
Published by the Congressional Information Service, this is a comprehensive
guide and index to the statistical publications of the U.S. government.
Indexed by names and subjects, and by categories (e.g., geographic breakdowns,
demographic breakdowns), and by title. It includes statistics from the
Department of Housing and Urban Development, indexed by subject, name,
categories, titles, and agency report numbers.
Also available in a print version, American Statistics Index (Z1223.Z7
A5 Langsam GovPub)
URL: http://web.lexis-nexis.com/statuniv
STAT-USA
Economic, business, and international trade information from the U.S.
Department of Commerce.
URL: http://www.stat-usa.gov/
Selected
Internet Resources on Statistics
URL: http://lii.org/search?searchtype=subject;query=Statistics;subsearch=Statistics
from the Librarian's Index to the Internet
URL: http://www.lii.org/
|