ARCHITECTURAL INDEX
Published once a year, this index provides access to articles published
in nine major architecture journals: ARCHITECTURE, ARCHITECTURAL RECORD,
BUILDER, CUSTOM BUILDER, INTERIOR DESIGN, INTERIORS, JOURNAL OF ARCHITECTURAL
EDUCATION, LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE, AND PROGRESSIVE ARCHITECTURE. Entries
are arranged alphabetically and articles about a particular building are
indexed under the general building type and cross-referenced under the
architect or designer as well as locations. This publication is particularly
useful if you want to find the most recent articles published on types
of buildings, e.g. hospitals, schools, restaurants, or if you want information
on a geographic area. (Web and Index Shelves)
ARCHITECTURAL
PERIODICALS INDEX
Published by the British Architectural Library of the Royal Institute
of British Architects; this publication indexes 400 architectural journals
with emphasis on British and European publication. Provides information
on building types, materials, forms of buildings, history, theory and
criticism of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, and
decoration. In order to make the best use of this index, it is recommended
that you consult ARCHITECTURAL KEYWORDS which provides the appropriate
subject headings. This publication is most useful when conducting a detailed
review of a particular subject. (Index Shelves)
ART
ABSTRACTS
This standard periodical index has the broadest coverage, including all
styles and periods of art. Indexes articles from approximately 300
major art periodicals dealing with such topics as art, photography, architecture,
landscape architecture, museums, and urban planning. Articles are
listed by author and subject. Includes book reviews and illustrations
that are indexed under the artist. (OhioLink Online: 1984-present and
Index Shelves: January, 1929-October, 1993)
ARTBIBLIOGRAPHIES
MODERN
This standard periodical index is primarily concerned with contemporary
artists and events, concentrating on all aspects of art, design,
and photography. Indexes articles from approximately 330 serials
plus festschriften (anthologies of articles dedicated to or honoring an
individual , for example on a birthday), dissertations, exhibition catalogs,
gallery publications, and artists’ books. Includes abstracts and
has good coverage of European artists and obscure artists. From
1969-1988, it covered art created since 1800, while in 1989, it became
more narrowly focused on art since 1900 and dropped architecture. (Index
Shelves)
AVERY
INDEX TO ARCHITECTURAL PERIODICALS
This periodical index is one of the most comprehensive reviews of architecture
and related subjects available. Indexes articles from more than
1,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals, including four important American
architectural periodicals, American Architect, Architectural Forum, Architectural
Record, and Progressive Architecture, from their first publication date.
It has a broad international scope and covers architectural history, design,
and practice; archeology; interior design; landscape concerns; city planning;
and historic preservation. (OhioLink Online: 1977-present and Index Shelves)
BIBLIOGRAPHY
OF THE HISTORY OF ART
Begun in 1990 with the merger of Repertoire d’art et d’archeologie (RAA)
and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA), BHA provides
the most comprehensive coverage of art history literature. Indexes
articles from all types of publications including over 2,500 periodicals,
books, book reviews, conference proceedings, Festschriften, exhibition
and art dealer’s catalogs, doctoral dissertations, collected essays, and
museum publications. Coverage includes European and American art
from late antiquity to the present. Provides some abstracts written
by art professionals. RILA available in print from 1975 to 1989.
(OhioLink Online: 1973-present and Index Shelves: 1991-1998)
DESIGN
AND APPLIED ARTS INDEX
DAAI is the only comprehensive index to current design and design-related
periodicals. Indexes more than 300 design and craft journals published
between 1973 and 1997, plus conference and seminar reports, reviews of
books, films, videos, and exhibitions, obituary notices and illustrations.
Coverage includes design history and theory, interior and furniture design,
industrial design, environmental design, advertising and packaging, marketing,
theatre, architecture, ergonomics, fashion, jewelry, textile design, ceramics,
and glass. (Index Shelves)
|