Graphic Design   

LIBRARY CATALOG

Use UCLID, UC Library Catalog to locate books, periodicals, videos, and other materials owned by UC, and the OhioLINK Catalog for items owned by other Ohio college libraries.

Author search on UCLID/OhioLINK:

Bass, Saul
Thompson, Bradbury

Search for publications by subject headings such as:

Graphic arts
Commercial art
Color advertising

You may also search under specific movements, such as Art Deco or Art Nouveau, or under names of individual designers. Remember - there might not be a book on your designer, so look for books on design history or design type. Remember - many design resources might be located in other UC libraries, OCAS for computer information, and LANGSAM for film and cinematography.

Call number areas for browsing:  NC970 - NC1003 & Z200 - Z250

 

INDEXES/DATABASES

Use the resources below to identify journal articles on graphic design.

Art Abstracts, 1929 to present

Artbibliographies Modern, 1974 to present

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) , 1973 to present

Design and Applied Arts Index, 1973 to present

 

REFERENCE RESOURCES

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Directories

Area / [editor, Valérie Vago-Laurer ; project editor, Patrick Busse]
"100 graphic designers, 010 curators, 010 design classics"
DAAP Reference  NC998 .4 .A74 2003

Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 165,000 people from throughout history,
around the world, and across all subject areas.

Contemporary Designers
DAAP Reference NK1166.C66 1990

Contemporary Masterworks
DAAP Reference N6490.C65675 1991

Design Encyclopedia
DAAP Reference NK1370.B93 1994b

Dictionary of Art
and DAAP Reference N31.D5 1996

Dictionary of 20th Century Design
DAAP Reference NK1390.P53 1990

Graphic Design for the 21st Century
DAAP Reference NC998.4 .F524 2003

Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
DAAP Reference NC997 .L54 2003

Twentieth Century Type Designers
DAAP Reference Z250 .A2C3 1995

Typography : when, who, how
DAAP Reference  Z118 .T95 1998

Who's Who in Graphic Design
DAAP Reference NC999.2 .W56 1994

Bibliographies

American Graphic Design: A Guide to the Literature
DAAP Reference Z5956.D5T46 1992

A Bibliography of Design in Britain 1851-1970
DAAP Reference Z5956.D5C68

Art Information: Research Methods and Resources /Lois Swan Jones
DAAP Reserves N85.J64 1990

 

WEB SITES

abctypography

American Center for Design

The American Institute of Graphic Arts: founded in 1914, calls itself "the oldest and largest national organization committed to the promotion of excellence in graphic design." There are 37 chapters nationwide with over 9,000 member graphic designers and related professionals.

Communication Arts
Graphic design news, competitions, and jobs.

The Graphic Artists Guild: is a support organization for graphic artists. Includes news, information on copyright, contracts and other useful and practical topics.

International Typeface Corporation

 

   


  Please send comments to:
  
University Libraries Web Manager