Fashion  

UCLID/OHIOLINK

Search for books in UCLID or OhioLINK under the individual designer's name or use Library of Congress SUBJECT HEADINGS, for example:

Author Search on UCLID/OhioLINK:

Rhodes, Zandra
Saint Laurent, Yves

Subject search using Library of Congress Subject Headings:

Fashion-History-20th Century
Fashion-Japan
Fashion-United States
Designers

Many fashion design books are found in the TT section of the stack
area. Take the opportunity to browse the resources located in that area.

 

INDEXES AND DATABASES

Use the resources below to locate magazine articles on contemporary
designers and retail and marketing information. Most of these can be
accessed through the UC libraries; Indexes and Databases page. Many
general interest periodicals and newspapers like THE NEW YORK TIMES
also contain information on fashion design.

ABI/Inform 1970 - Present

Art Abstracts 1929 - Present

Artbibliographies Modern, 1974 to present

Business and Industry Database 1994 - Present

Design and Applied Arts Index

REFERENCE RESOURCES

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Directories

CONTEMPORARY DESIGNERS
DAAP Reference NK1165.C66 1990
A fairly comprehensive guide to contemporary designers, including
fashion. Each entry includes a short biography with a list of exhibitions,
major works, and publications written BY and ON the particular
designer. A short essay about their work is also included.

CONTEMPORARY FASHION
DAAP Reference TT505.A1 C66 1995
A comprehensive guide to contemporary fashion designers. Each entry
includes a short personal and professional biography, bibliographic
citations by and about the designer, and if possible, a statement by
the designer on his or her own work or design philosophy, as well as
a critical essay by a scholar or critic in the field of fashion and
costume history.

COSTUME REFERENCE
DAAP Reference GT730.S48 1977b (Vols. 1-10)
Guide to the history of costume beginning with the Roman influence
and ending in the present day. This guide explores the changes which
have occurred through time in the clothing of men, women and children
of each period dealt with.

THE FASHION BOOK
DAAP Reference Oversize TT503.F3 1998
An A-Z guide to 500 clothes and accessory designers, photographers,
models and iconic individuals spanning 150 years. Each entry is illustrated
with a photograph or drawing which shows the "quintessential aspect" of
their work.

THE FASHION ENCYCLOPEDIA
DAAP Reference TT503.H68 1982
Encyclopedia dealing specifically with terms related to fashion design
and the fashion industry from A to Z.

THE FASHION GUIDE
DAAP Reference Oversize TT495.F28 (Annual)
The international business book of fashion. It contains essential
information not only on the names and addresses of fabric producers,
but on yarn, fiber and trim manufacturers, all of which comprise the
"Guide to Textile Companies". THE FASHION GUIDE also contains a
US Public Relations directory, information on department stores and
buyers throughout the world and a guide to perfume designers.

GARMENT AND TEXTILE DICTIONARY
DAAP Reference TT494.C66 1997
An essential dictionary for anyone in the textile industry. Contains over
3,5000 easy-to-understand definitions of key garment and textile terms
arranged alphabetically. Includes phonetic pronunciations and extensive
cross-referencing. Contains a special section on garment and textile
defects. Appendices include garment and textile associations, vendors,
and Internet resources.

MCDOWELL'S DIRECTORY OF TWENTIETH CENTURY FASHION
DAAP Reference TT505.A1 M37 1985
Contains a short introduction to the history of fashion. A directory which
covers the major designers from A through Z includes a short biography
of each. Also included is a directory of the "Image Makers", or major
fashion photographers of the twentieth century, each also accompanied
by a short biography. Guides to fashion education, fashion organizations
and fashion awards.

THE ST. JAMES FASHION ENCYCLOPEDIA: A Survey of Style from 1945
to the Present.

DAAP Reference TT505.A1 S7 1997
Revised edition of Contemporary Fashion (1995). Includes a fashion
chronology, nationality index, and appendix of brief descriptions of a
number of fashion houses, designers, merchandisers, photographers, and
other contributors to the world of fashion.

WHO'S WHO IN FASHION
DAAP Reference TT505.A1 S74 1996
Short biographies of this century's most noted names to know, foreign
and American designers.

WORLD OF FASHION: People, Places, Resources
DAAP Reference TT515.L16
Short histories of fashion all over the world. Each country's entry varies
in the information provided, but some of the pertinent areas include
centers of fashion education, costume and fashion archives, fashion
publications, fashion designers and firms, trade associations and
organizations and fashion influential.

WEB SITES

FashionNet

First View

Useful Web Links from the DAAP homepage.

 

 

   


  Please send comments to:
  
University Libraries Web Manager