|
UCLID/OhioLINK
Use UCLID/OhioLINK to search for publications on photography and photographers.
TR is the library classification for books on photography. Useful subjects
to search include:
Art and Photography
Calotype
Photography- History
Photography- Artist
Cameras
Under individual photographers name. For example:
Nettles, Bea
Mapplethorpe, Robert
Weston, Edward
Biographical
Dictionaries
CONTEMPORARY PHOTOGRAPHERS. DAAP REFERENCE TR 139.C664 1995
This is currently the most complete biographical dictionary for photographic
research. Over 600 entries with illustrations, biographical sketches,
bibliography, list of exhibitions, signed critical essay, and statement
by the photographer. Emphasis on twentieth century photographers, but
some major nineteenth century photographers included.
FOCAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PHOTOGRAPHY. DAAP REFERENCE TR9.F6 1969
Two-volume encyclopedia containing short definitions, major articles,
and biographical sketches. First published in 1956. Named contributors
include Harold Edgerton, the Gernsheims, and L. Fritz Gruber. Biographical
entries include dates, accomplishments, and sources. A good source for
information on commercial and non "art" photographers,specifically
if they are Britsh.
MACMILLAN
BIOGRAPHICAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTISTS AND INNOVATORS. DAAP
REFERENCE TR139.B767 1983
Alphabetic list of more than 2,000 biographies assembled through questionnaires
to museums and galleries. Entry includes dates, activities, publications,
collections, dealers, addresses, and 144 color and black-and-white plates.
Photographers, educators, curators, critics, dealers, and others in the
field of photography are included. Geographic list of museums and galleries
found at end of volume.
AN ILLUSTRATED
BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BLACK PHOTOGRAPHERS 1940-1988. DAAP REFERENCE TR139.W55
1989
This publication and its' companion volume, BLACK PHOTOGRAPHERS: 1840-1940,
are essential source books for the study of individual black photographers.
Entries include biographical information as well as selected bibliography.
Indexes
& Abstracts
ART ABSTRACTS.
1929 to present
Index to foreign and domestic art periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Indexes the following photography magazines:
Afterimage
Aperture
British Journal of Photography
Camera,
Creative Camera
History of Photography
Image
Photographic Journal
plus art magazines that often include articles on photography. Arranged
alphabetically by authors and subjects. Book review index at end of each
issue.
ARTBIBLIOGRAPHIES MODERN. 1972-.
Index to domestic and foreign exhibition catalogs, periodicals, and books.
Indexes the following photography magazines, as well as art magazines
that often include articles on photography:
AFTERIMAGE
BRITISH JOURNAL OF PHOTOGRAPHY
CAMERA
EUROPEAN PHOTOGRAPHY
HISTORY OF PHOTOGRAPHY
OCTOBER
PETERSEN'S PHOTOGRAPHIC MAGAZINE
Contains abstracts. Located on the DAAP Reference Index Shelves. Please
see a library staff member for further information.
General
Histories Containing Biographical Information
Gernsheim, Helmut and Alison. THE HISTORY OF PHOTOGRAPHY FROM THE CAMERA
OBSCURA TO THE BEGINNING OF THE MODERN ERA. 2nd Edition. New York: Mcgraw-Hill,
1969. TR15.G37 1969 (Southwest Depository)
Encyclopedic history of photography as an art. First published in 1955.
Extensive index includes photographers' names and dates, subjects, processes,
and much more. Lengthy bibliographic notes and illustrations. Names are
highlighted in the text, making scanning easier. The revised and expanded
version will be published in two parts. The English edition of part one,
The Origins of Photography, appeared in 1983.
Newhall, Beaumont. THE HISTORY OF PHOTOGRAPHY: FROM 1839 TO THE PRESENT.
Revised and enlarged edition. New York: Museum of Modern Art, 1982.
TR15.N47 1982 (DAAP Reserves)
Photography from its pre-history to the 1970's written by an American
scholar trained in traditional art history. First published in 1937. Includes
chapters in color, photojournalism, and artistic photography, as well
as an extensive bibliography and index to photographers.
Pollack,
Peter. THE PICTURE HISTORY OF PHOTOGRAPHY: FROM THE EARLIEST BEGINNINGS
TO THE PRESENT DAY. Revised and enlarged edition. New York: Abrams, 1977.
TR15.P55 1977 (DAAP Oversize)
Broad historical survey with brief text, concise bibliography, and a full
index to photographers. Most valuable for its hundreds of illustrations.
Biographical details given only for the photographers spotlighted in the
text.
Special
Subjects
Jammes, Andre and Eugenia Parry Janis. THE ART OF THE FRENCH CALOTYPE:
WITH A CRITICAL DICTIONARY OF PHOTOGRAPHERS, 1845-1870. Princeton: Princeton
University Press, 1983. TR71.J35 1983 (Southwest Depository)
Extensive, exhaustively researched notes on French photographers. Each
entry includes birthplace, societies, awards, exhibitions, address of
photographer's businesses, and extensive bibliographies. Excellent reproductions.
Naef, Westom. THE COLLECTION OF ALFRED STIEGLITZ: 50 PIONEERS OF MODERN
PHOTOGRAPHY. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, Viking Press, 1978.
TR646.U6 N48
Description of the photographic collection of Alfred Stieglitz including
biographies of the photographers represented. Each entry is made up of
a portrait of the photographer, facsimile signature, chronology, exhibition
list, and bibliography.
WOMEN
OF PHOTOGRAPHY: AN HISTORICAL SURVEY. San Francisco: San Francisco Museum
of Art, 1975. TR646.U6 S368 1975 (DAAP Oversize)
Biographical sketches for 50 photographers born between 1815 and 1950.
Includes checklist of exhibition curated by Margery Mann and Anne Noggle.
Collections
of Photographers' Writings and Interviews
Daimonstein, Barbaralee. VISIONS AND IMAGES: AMERICAN PHOTOGRAPHERS ON
PHOTOGRAPHY. New York: Rizzoli, 1981. TR147.V53 1982 OMI/CAS
Harry Callahan, Cornell Capa, Alfred Eisenstaedt, Elliott Erwitt, Horst
P. Horst, Andre Kertesz, Ray Metzker, Joel Meyerowitz, Duane Michals,
Barbara Morgan, Arnold Newman, Aaron Siskind, Frederick Sommer, Burk Uzzle
and Garry Winogrand.
Dugan, Thomas. PHOTOGRAPHY BETWEEN COVERS. Rochester: Light Impressions,
1983. TR147.D83 (DAAP Stacks)
Syl Labrot, Nathan Lyons, Ralph Gibson, Larry Clark, Keith Smith, Joan
Lyons, Eikoh Hosoe, Bea Nettles, Duane Michals, George Tice, Robert Adams,
Scott Hyde, A.D. Coleman, David Godine, and Sid Rapoport.
Hill,
Paul and Thomas Cooper. DIALOGUE WITH PHOTOGRAPHY. New York: Farrar, Straus,
Giroux, 1992. TR139.D52 1992 (DAAP Stacks)
Paul Strand, Man Ray, Cecil Beaton, Jacques-Henri Lartigue, Brassai, Andre
Kertesz, George Rodger, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Robert Doisneau, Herbert
Bayer, Henry Holmes Smith, Helmut Gernsheim, Brett Weston, Manuel Alvarez
Bravo, and Eliot Porter originally appeared in Camera magazine, W. Eugene
Smith, Laura Gilpin, Imogen Cunningham, Wynn Bullock, Minor White, Beaumont
Newhall, and Ansel Adams.
Lyons,
Nathan. PHOTOGRAPHERS ON PHOTOGRAPHY: A CRITICAL ANTHOLOGY. Englewood
Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1966. TR185.L9 (Langsam Stacks)
Essay by 23 photographers, 1889-1963. Biographical notes on pages 177-90.
|