Censorship and the Arts  

BOOKS: Use UCLID, the University of Cincinnati Library Information Database, to search for publications by author, title, and subject. If you search by subject, you must use a Library of Congress subject heading. Subject headings consist of one word or several.

Appropriate terms include:

  • Censorship
  • Literature and morals
  • Freedom of the Press
  • Prior Restraint
  • Federal aid to the arts
  • Arts--censorship
  • Arts--federal aid
  • Art and state
You may also search under the name of agencies, e.g. National Endowment for the Arts, or under the name of an individual artist, e.g. Robert Mapplethorpe. UCLID will only provide you with books owned by the University of Cincinnati. Consult the OhioLINK Central Catalog for items owned elsewhere in the state.

JOURNALS: Use relevant terms to look in periodical indexes for article citations.
ART ABSTRACTS and PROQUEST RESEARCH LIBRARY, both on OhioLINK are important periodical indexes to consult. You may also want to consult articles that have appeared in other magazines. Newspapers will also provide a wealth of information. The Public Library of Cincinnati maintains an in-house index to the CINCINNATI ENQUIRER as well as a clipping and information file. There also exist indexes to major newspapers such as the NEW YORK TIMES in Langsam Library. A newspaper database is available on OhioLINK.

U.S. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS: NEH/NEA. Documents as well as congressional hearings and statistical information are sources of additional data. The CATALOG OF U.S. GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS is a current bibliography of publications issued by all branches of the government including both the congressional and the department and bureau publications.

BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES: It may be useful to find information on a specific artist/government official. While the ART ABSTRACTS can provide some information, it may be helpful to consult additional biographical sources located in Langsam Library.

ASSOCIATIONS: The reaction to censorship and the statements issued by associations provide important information. THE INTERNATIONAL DIRECTORY OF THE ARTS, DAAP Reference N50 .I6, provides a list of associations with addresses and contact persons. Some important associations are:

  • College Art Association
  • Art Libraries Society of America
  • American Association of Museums
  • American Library Association
  • Midwest Art History Society
  • Mid-America College Art Association
  • American Craft Council
  • American Federation of Arts
  • American Council for the Arts
  • Arts Midwest
   


  Please send comments to:
  
University Libraries Web Manager