Careers in the Arts  

This guide provides references to library resources on art as a career, legal aspects, and the preparation of portfolios. 

THE ART BUSINESS ENCYCLOPEDIA.  Leonard D. DuBoff.  N.Y.: Allworth Press, 1994. 
DAAP Reference N8600.D83 1994 

ART MARKETING 101: A HANDBOOK FOR THE FINE ARTIST.  Constance Smith.  Penn Valley, CA: ArtNetwork, 1997. 
DAAP Reference N6506.F69 1997 

ART MARKETING SOURCEBOOK FOR THE FINE ARTIST.  Constance Smith, ed.  Penn Valley, CA: ArtNetwork, 1998.
DAAP Reference N58.A78 1998

THE ART OF SELLING ART.  Zella Jackson. NovaSearch Publishing, 1994. 
DAAP Stacks N8600 .J33 1994 

THE ART OF SHOWING ART.  James Reeve. Council Oak Books, 1992. 
DAAP Stacks N4395 .R44 1992

ARTIST'S & GRAPHIC DESIGNERS'S MARKET. Mary Cox, ed. Cincinnati, OH: Writer's Digest Books, 2000. 
DAAP Reference N8600.A746 2000 

THE ARTIST'S GUIDE TO NEW MARKETS: OPPORTUNITIES TO SHOW AND SELL ART BEYOND GALLERIES.  Peggy Hadden. N.Y.: Allworth Press, 1998. 
DAAP Reference N8600.H33 1998 

THE ARTIST'S RESOURCE HANDBOOK.  Daniel Grant.  N.Y.: Allworth Press, 1996. 
DAAP Reference N8600.G69 1996 

CAREER CHOICES FOR THE 90's: FOR STUDENTS OF ART.  Career Associates.  N.Y.: Walker, 1990. 
DAAP Reference N6505.C34 1990 

CAREERS IN ART: AN ILLUSTRATED GUIDE.  Gerald F. Brommer and Joseph A. Gatto.  Worcester, Mass.: Davis Publications, Inc., 1999.
DAAP Reference N6505.B74 1999

CAREERS IN THE VISUAL ARTS: A GUIDE TO JOBS, MONEY, OPPORTUNITIES, AND AN ARTISTIC LIFE.  Dee Ito. N.Y.: Watson-Guptill Publications, 1993. 
DAAP N6505.I86 1993 

THE FINE ARTIST'S GUIDE TO MARKETING AND SELF-PROMOTION.  Julius Vitali.  N.Y.: Allworth Press, 1996. 
DAAP Reference N8600.V57 1996 

FOR THE WORKING ARTIST: A SURVIVAL GUIDE FOR ARTISTS.  Judith Luther.  Los Angeles, C.A.: National Network for Artist Placement, 1991. 
DAAP Reserves N8600.F67 1991 

GETTING THE WORD OUT: THE ARTIST'S GUIDE TO SELF-PROMOTION. Upper Fairmount, MD: Art Calendar Pub., 1995. 
DAAP N8350.G48 1995x 

THE GRAPHIC DESIGNER'S GUIDE TO CREATIVE MARKETING.  Linda Cooper Bowen.  N.Y.: Johy Wiley & Sons, Inc., 1999. 
DAAP NC1001.6.B68 1999 
A complete guide to marketing services with practical, step-by-step instructions on every aspect of graphic design marketing, including developing a marketing plan, resumes, proposals, and account management.

GREAT JOBS FOR ART MAJORS.  Blythe Camenson.  Lincolnwood, Ill.: VGM Career Horizons, 1997. 
DAAP Reference N6505.C33 1997 

HOW TO PREPARE YOUR PORTFOLIO: A GUIDE FOR STUDENTS AND PROFESSIONAL. Ed Marquand. N.Y.: Art Direction Book Company, 1994. 
DAAP Reference N835.M37 1994 
A good reference that provides information on how to assemble your professional portfolio. 

HOW TO START AND SUCCEED AS AN ARTIST.  Daniel Grant.  N.Y.: Allworth Press, 1997. 
DAAP N6505.G66 1997 

HOW TO SURVIVE AND PROSPER AS AN ARTIST: SELLING YOURSELF WITHOUT SELLING YOUR SOUL.  Caroll Michels.  N.Y.: Holt, 1997. 
DAAP N6505.M46 1997 
In addition to chapters on dealers, galleries and exhibition opportunities, this book provides a useful appendix of resources which includes: information on accounting and bookkeeping for artists, arts organizations, alternative exhibition space, performance space, apprentice and internship programs, art colonies, artist-in-residence and exchange programs, arts legislation, career management, health hazards, and useful periodicals. 

LEGAL GUIDE FOR THE VISUAL ARTIST.  Tad Crawford. Cincinnati, OH: North Light Books, 1999. 
DAAP Reference KF390.A7 C73 1999 
Now in the fourth edition, this guide provides essential legal information for visual artists and covers such areas as copyright, moral rights, contracts, studios and leases, grants and public support for the arts, a directory of states arts agencies, regional groups, national arts service organizations, and NEA regional representatives, plus a selected bibliography. 

OPPORTUNITIES IN VISUAL ARTS CAREERS.  Mark Salmon. Lincolnwood, Ill.: VGM Career Horizons, 1993. 
DAAP Reserves N6505.S34 1993 

THE ULTIMATE PORTFOLIO.  Martha Metzdorf. Cincinnati: North Light Books, 1991. 
DAAP Reference NC1001.6.M48 1991 
This book includes sample portfolios and interviews with designers/illustrators. One chapter deals with the use of slides and video in an interview portfolio. 


Organizations (for additional information)

    Center for Arts Information
    625 Broadway 
    New York, NY 10012 

    National Artists Equity
    P.O. Box 28068 
    Washington, DC 20038-8068 
    (202) 628-9633 

    Volunteer Lawyers and Accountants for the Arts
    c/o Cleveland Bar Association 
    113 St. Clair Avenue 
    Cleveland OH  44114-1253 
    (216) 255-3344 

    Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts (by state)


Periodicals

(particularly useful for competition, grant, and awards information): 
  • ART CALENDAR 
  • ART IN AMERICA 
  • ARTNEWS 
  • COLLEGE ART ASSOCIATION NEWSLETTER 

Indexes & Abstracts

Use ART ABSTRACTSto find current information. Some useful subject headings to look under include: 
  • Art/Law 
  • Artists/Legal Status 
  • Laws 
  • Professional Ethics 
  • Occupational Surveys 
  • Art as a Profession 
  • Artists' Statements 
  • Artists'/Fees and Salaries
  • Employment
   


  Please send comments to:
  
University Libraries Web Manager