|
UCLID/OHIOLINK
When
searching for a reproduction of a specific artist's
work or a specific title, a good place to start is a general
reproduction index. The indexes listed below
(Indexes/Databases) provide information on selected
artists' works and the published source where they have
been reproduced. Keep in mind that the exact image desired
may not be found because the reproduction may not have
been indexed or the piece of art may not have an existing
reproduction. If you are unable to find the artist or the work in
any of these sources, try looking for books on the artist , if he
or she is known, in the UCLID catalog or consult a librarian.
All sources listed below are located in the DAAP Reference
collection on the first floor of the DAAP Library, or are available
through OhioLINK.
INDEXES/DATABASES
General
Sources
ART
ABSTRACTS 1929-present
The major periodical index for art and a good source for
locating reproductions in periodicals. Search on the artist's
name and look for the heading "Reproductions" or limit by
reproduction.
CONTEMPORARY
ART AND ARTISTS: AN INDEX TO REPRODUCTIONS
DAAP Reference N6490.P3234
An index to reproductions of artwork from around the world
from 1940 to the mid-1970's which have appeared in some
60 books and exhibit catalogs. Arranged by artist with subject
and title indexes.
INDEX
OF AMERICAN DESIGN
DAAP Microforms
Series of microfiche containing fine reproductions of American
design. Arranged in categories with a printed descriptive catalog,
Parts 2-10.
INDEX
TO ART REPRODUCTIONS IN BOOKS
DAAP Reference N7525.H48 1974
Index to reproductions of paintings, sculpture, graphic art,
photography, stage design, and architecture from 65 selected
books published from 1956-1971. Part 1 is a name index;
Part 2 is a title index.
INDEX
TO TWO-DIMENSIONAL ART WORKS
DAAP Reference N7525.K67 v.1-2
Indexes 35,000 reproductions of two-dimensional art in all
media, including etchings, tapestries, and drawings.
Volume 1 is an artist index; Volume 2 is a title/subject index
Architecture
WORLD
ARCHITECTURE INDEX
DAAP Reference NA202.T4 1991
Indexes by building site, architect, type of work, and name of
work; presents the sources for about 7,200 architectural works
reproduced in more than 100 books. Includes exterior and
interior views, plans, sections, and elevations.
Illustrations
ILLUSTRATION
INDEX. DAAP Reference N7525.V3 1966
ILLUSTRATION
INDEX. DAAP Reference N7525.V3 1980
ILLUSTRATION
INDEX V: 1977-1981.
DAAP Reference N7525.A66 1984
ILLUSTRATION
INDEX VI: 1982-1986.
DAAP Reference N7525.A66 1988
ILLUSTRATION
INDEX VII: 1987-1991.
DAAP Reference N7525.A66 1993 P
rovides a subject index to illustrations appearing in popular
journals and some books from 1950 to June 1963. Further
editions update and broaden the coverage of previous titles.
Painting
INDEX
TO REPRODUCTIONS OF AMERICAN PAINTINGS:
A GUIDE TO PICTURES OCCURRING IN MORE THAN EIGHT
HUNDRED BOOKS
DAAP Reference ND205.M57 c.2
Lists of works of American artists that appear in 520 books
and 300 exhibition catalogs published before 1948. Paintings
are indexed by artists' name, title, and in some cases, subject.
The Supplement continues the index from 1948 to 1961 and
lists paintings of artists reproduced in more than 400 general
books on art and individual artists, as well as museum and
special exhibition catalogs.
INDEX
TO REPRODUCTIONS OF AMERICAN PAINTINGS
APPEARING IN MORE THAN 400 BOOKS, MOSTLY PUBLISHED
SINCE 1960
DAAP Reference ND205.S575
Continues the indexing of American paintings of the above
sources. Covers reproductions that appeared in more than 400
books mostly published in the 1960s and 1970s. Paintings are
indexed by artist and subject category.
INDEX
TO REPRODUCTIONS OF EUROPEAN PAINTINGS:
A GUIDE TO PICTURES IN MORE THAN THREE
HUNDRED BOOKS
DAAP Reference ND45.M6 c.2
Guide to pictures by European artists that are reproduced in
328 books. Paintings are indexed by artists' name, title, and
in some cases, subject.
INDEX
TO REPRODUCTIONS OF PAINTINGS BY
TWENTIETH-CENTURY CHINESE ARTISTS
Langsam ND1045.L35 1998
Includes bibliographical references and index.
WORLD
PAINTING INDEX
DAAP Reference ND45.H38 v.1-2
Indexes paintings from 1161 art books. Volume 1 lists works
by anonymous artists and known artists. Volume 2 is a title
index. One supplement updates the source using the same
two-volume format. It adds 617 art books to the original list
and expands coverage to 1980.
Photography
AP PHOTO
ARCHIVE (OhioLINK)
An electronic library containing the Associated Press's current
photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image
print and negative library.
PHOTOGRAPHY
BOOKS INDEX:
A SUBJECT GUIDE TO PHOTO ANTHOLOGIES
DAAP Reference TR199.M67 1985
Index of 22 selected photography books. Section 1 is an
alphabetical list of photographers with titles of their works;
Section 2 is a subject index; Section 3 is a list of portraits of
named individuals. Continues with a supplement published
in 1985, which indexes 28 additional photography books.
PHOTOGRAPHY
INDEX: A GUIDE TO REPRODUCTIONS
DAAP Reference TR199.P37
Guide to locating reproductions of photographs dating from the
1820s to the 1970s that appear in over 80 major books an
exhibition catalogs dealing with artistic, journalistic, and
documentary photography. Part 1 is a chronological listing of
works by unknown photographers; Part 2 is an alphabetical
listing of known photographers; Part 3 is a detailed subject/title
index, which corresponds with Parts 1 and 2.
Prints
THE PRINT
COUNCIL INDEX TO OEUVRE-CATALOGUES OF
PRINTS BY EUROPEAN AND AMERICAN ARTISTS
DAAP Reference Z5947.A3.R53 1983
Index to "oeuvre-catalogues" (any listing of the artist's total
output in prints, prints in one technique, or prints made up to
a certain date) of particular artists up to 1972. Arranged
alphabetically according to the name of the artist or publisher
with catalogs listed in chronological order thereafter. Good
source for copies of hard to find items.
PRINT
INDEX: A GUIDE TO REPRODUCTIONS
DAAP Reference NE90.P17 1983
Guide to locating illustrations of prints dating from the early
1700s through the mid-1970s that appear in 100 English
language books, exhibition catalogs, and collection catalogs.
Part 1 is an artist index; Part 2 is a subject/title index.
Sculpture
SCULPTURE
INDEX
DAAP Reference NB36.C55 v.1-2
Guide to locating pictures of sculptures in approximately
950 publications. Reproductions of sculpture are indexed
by artist's name, distinctive title, and in some cases, subject.
Volume 1 covers sculpture of Europe and the contemporary
Middle East; Volume 2 covers sculpture of the Americas,
the Orient, Africa, the Pacific area, and the classical world.
WEB
SITES
Useful
Web Links: Provides links to numerous scholarly, reliable
Art History sources.
ART HISTORY
RESOURCES ON THE WEB - Prints and Photography
|