UCLID/OhioLINK
Use UCLID/OhioLINK to find resources in our collection related to art
education. Search for publications using the following Library of Congress
subject headings:
Art – study and teaching
Art and society
Art in Education
Artists as teachers
Curriculum planning – United States
DAAP Library also has subscriptions to many important journals (magazines)
in art education and related fields. Most of the journals in the DAAP
Library will provide you with theoretical as well as practical hands-on
information concerning art education. Browsing the current journal collection
will provide you with ideas for projects. A title search in UCLID will
indicate journal location, as well as dates of available back issues.
Other journals (e.g. Chronicle of Higher Education) are available online
and can also be located with a title search in UCLID.
INDEXES/DATABASES
Using the periodical indexes on OhioLINK, you can search art and education
sources for periodical articles on a particular subject, educator, or
educational theory.
Art Abstracts,
1929 to present
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for 313
leading international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks,
and museum bulletins. This database offers broad coverage of art topics,
including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior
design, video, film, architecture, and art history.
Education Abstracts,1983-present
Education Abstracts covers 423 core international periodicals, monographs,
and yearbooks. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues,
including government funding, instructional media, multicultural education,
religious education, student counseling, competency-based, and information
technology.
ERIC, Educational
Resources Information Center (U.S. Dept. of Education)*
1966-present
ERIC is a distributed national information system designed to provide
users with ready access to an extensive body of education-related literature.
The National Library of Education, a part of the U.S. Department of Education,
supports ERIC, established in 1966.
*ERIC uses a specialized thesaurus of terms. Unless you are familiar
with the thesaurus, or wish to use it, uncheck the "check keywords
in thesaurus" box, which appears above the keyword search.
REFERENCE RESOURCES
DAAP Library has a large collection of specialized reference books on
art, architecture, design, fashion and related topics. If you need a definition
of a style or period of art, biographical information on an artist, or
simply need to understand a term used in art, then you need to consult
a reference book. Use the Reference Guides link from the DAAP homepage
to connect to lists of reference books to help you in your research.
The DAAP Library also has access to online reference resources. These
resources provide the user with the opportunity to view images as well
as locate information on a particular topic.
Two very helpful online resources include:
Oxford
Reference Online
Provides access to 100 Oxford dictionaries and reference works. Includes
web links for further sources of information.
The Dictionary
of Art Online
Provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996,
34 vols.) with constant additions of new material and updates to the text,
plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages
possible with an online reference source.
WEB SITES
These web sites may be helpful to art educators by providing tools to
be used for the development of an art curriculum and art lessons.
NAEA – National Art Education
Association
<http://www.naea-reston.org/>
The NAEA is a non-profit, education organization comprised of art educators
from all levels of instruction. The purpose of the NAEA is to promote
art education through professional development, service, advancement of
knowledge, and leadership.
ArtsEdNet – The Getty
Foundation
<http://www.getty.edu/artsednet/>
This online service developed by the Getty Education Institute for the
Arts, supports the needs of the K-12 arts education community –
helping arts educators, general classroom teachers using the arts in their
curriculum, museum educators, and university faculty involved in the arts.
Covers advocacy, professional development, curriculum development, and
theory development (advocating the use of discipline-based art education).
Association for the Advancement for the
Arts
<www.aaae.org/>
This association aids educators in learning how to use the arts to teach
social studies, science, math, and language arts. The educator will be
able to incorporate the arts into the core curriculum, allowing students
to explore aspects of life around them in new ways. Also provides information
on professional development opportunities as well as lesson plans and
an artist guide.
SERIALS AND PRINT RESOURCES
The DAAP Library subscribes to several serial publications, which are
of interest to art educators. These publications offer educators a variety
of resources, from discussion of art education theory to activities for
the classroom.
Art Education (Journal of the National Art Education Association)
Provides articles on teaching techniques, as well as philosophies. Also
contains information on educational resources that are available for purchase.
Arts & Activities
Provides activities related to, or drawing from, techniques, artists,
and subject matter. Includes instruction on how to present lessons to
a class, as well as how to fit the lessons into the curriculum.
Arts Education Policy Review
This journal is a forum for the discussion of policy issues. It presents
analyses and recommendations concerning arts teaching from pre-kindergarten
through the 12th grade. Articles address current as well as resurfacing
issues in arts education. This journal does not promote individuals, methods,
or products.
School Arts
This publication provides art-related activities as well as editorials
from other readers. It also includes a section devoted to obtaining certain
types of supplies, such as paints or brushes.
Studies in Art Education
This is a journal of research and issues. It explores theoretical and
practical aspects of art criticism, artistic growth, curriculum and learning,
program evaluation, and other educational dimensions of the visual arts.
Laura Chapman Resources
The Laura Chapman Resources are a variety of educational resources and
tools including transparencies, posters, art reproductions, and assessment
masters. The purpose of these materials is to aid art educators in the
creation of lesson plans and an art curriculum. Most Laura Chapman resources
are found in the Curriculum Resources Center, but some are on reserve
in the DAAP Library.
|