Health Care Facilities  

UCLID

Use UCLID (University of Cincinnati Library Information Database) to find books on health care facility design and related materials. Publications on this subject are often found in many of the UC Libraries including Health Sciences, Nursing, DAAP and Langsam. Useful subject headings to search on UCLID include: 

Clinics
Halfway Houses
Health Facility Planning
Health Facilities — Design and Construction
Hospitals — Design and Construction
Hospital Design and Construction
Long Term Care Facilities
Medical Centers

Sources to Consult

Burgun, J. Armand. INTRODUCTION TO HEALTH CARE PLANNING, DESIGN, AND CONSTRUCTION. Chicago, Il.: American Society for Hospital Engineering of the American Hospital Association, 1994.
DAAP RA967.B87 1994 

Carpman, Janet Reizenstein and Myron A. Grant. DESIGN THAT CARES: PLANNING HEALTH FACILITIES FOR PATIENTS AND VISITORS. Chicago, Il.: American Hospital Publications, 1993.
DAAP RA967.C34 1993 

HKC, Inc. THE ARCHITECTURE OF HEALING. Dallas, Tex.: Heritage Pub., 1994.
DAAP RA967.A718 1994 

Klein, Burton, R. et. al. HEALTH CARE FACILITY PLANNING AND CONSTRUCTION. New York, New York, Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1989.
DAAP RA967.K543 1989. 

Malkin, Jain. HOSPITAL INTERIOR ARCHITECTURE. New York, N.Y.: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1992.
DAAP RA967.M3 1992. 

Marberry, Sara O. ed. HEALTHCARE DESIGN. New York, N.Y.: John Wiley, 1997.
DAAP RA967.H45 1997. 

Miller, Richard L. NEW DIRECTIONS IN HOSPITAL AND HEALTHCARE FACILITY DESIGN. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 1995.
DAAP RA967.M49 1995. 

Nesmith, Elizabeth Lynn. HEALTH CARE ARCHITECTURE: DESIGNS FOR THE FUTURE. Washington, D.C.: American Institute of Architects Press; Rockport, Mass.: Rockport Publishers, 1995.
DAAP RA967.N47 1995 


Indexes and Abstracts

ABI/INFORM OhioLINK (1971 to present) 

This resource indexes many major health care periodicals such as HEALTH AFFAIRS, HEALTH CARE MANAGEMENT REVIEW, HEALTH SERVICES RESEARCH, and HEALTHCARE EXECUTIVE. In addition, this resource provides access to hundreds of financial and management journals. 

AVERY INDEX TO ARCHITECTURAL PERIODICALS OhioLINK (1977 to present) 

THE AVERY INDEX is the most comprehensive index to architectural literature describing articles from over 1,000 periodicals in all areas of architecture. Search using the subject word (SW) option. Some useful search terms include: mental health facilities, health care buildings, hospices, nursing homes, hospitals, housing for the elderly. 

HEALTH STAR OhioLINK (1975 to present) 

Health STAR cites literature on health care planning and facilities, health insurance, financial management, planning and personnel management. 

NEWSPAPER ABSTRACTS OhioLINK (1989 to present) 

As health care reform is a major issue facing society, this database could provide useful articles on innovative health care programs as well as design and organizational aspects of health care facilities and programs. 

PERIODICAL ABSTRACTS OhioLINK (1986 to present) 

Provides citations (with abstracts) from hundreds of general interest magazines related to health, consumer issues, public policy and social issues. 

SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS OhioLINK (1963 to present) 

Provides access to articles from over 300 English language journals in the social sciences from 1983 to the present. Some useful search terms include: health risk assessment, maternal health services, hospitals/design and construction, and AIDS. This database will provide more information on psychological/ sociological aspects of health care rather than design issues.

   


  Please send comments to:
  
University Libraries Web Manager