|
Reference
Architectural research methods / Linda Groat. New York : J. Wiley, 2002
DAAP Reference NA2000 .G76 2002
Art information : research methods and resources / Lois Swan Jones. 3rd
ed.
Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c1990.
DAAP Reserves & Stacks N85 .J64 1990
Communication research : strategies and sources / Rebecca B. Rubin, Alan
M. Rubin, Linda J. Piele. 5th ed. Belmont, CA : Wadsworth Thomson Learning,
2000.
Langsam & RWC Stacks P91.3 .R83 2000
Sir Banister Fletcher's,
A History of Architecture. Sir Banister Fletcher.
19th edition edited by John Musgrove. London: Butterworths, 1987.
DAAP Reference NA200.F63 1987
This is considered the standard reference work on architectural history.
It is profusely illustrated with drawings, plans and photographs. Its
very detailed index makes it a valuable reference for concise identification
of architectural styles and characteristics.
Encyclopedia of Architecture: design , engineering and constuction. Joseph
A. Wilkes, editor. New York: Wiley, 1988. (5 volumes)
DAAP Reference NA31.E59 1988
This serves as a good starting point for architectural terms, styles and
people. Especially useful are lengthy articles on building types covering
their history and characteristics. A bibliography follow seach article
for further research.
Architecture
and Building Online Reference Tools
"Architecture and Building is a guide to net sites on architecture,
building and construction, design, housing, planning, preservation, facility
management, energy and the environment, and landscape architecture, compiled
by Jeanne Brown, University of Nevada Las Vegas Architecture Studies Library."
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Indexes
Avery Index to
Architectural Periodicals.
The most comprehensive index to architecture maintained by the staff of
the Avery Architectural Library at Columbia Universty. Late 1800's to
the present.
Art
Abtracts.
Covers architecture and the visual arts from 1929 to the present. Indexes
230 magazines.
Architectural Index.
Web: 1982 to the present. DAAP Reference Index Shelf Z5941.A7: 1951 to
the present.
Indexes nineteen major American architectural magazines. Articles are
listed under building types such as museums and residences, by geographic
location (city and state), and architect or designer with more specific
subheadings under each.
Architectural Publications
Index.
DAAP Reference Z5941.A73
Published in Great Britain, provides good coverage of major foreign and
technical magazines not included in the other indexes. The entries are
arranged by subject and include a brief description of the article. At
the end of each volume are designer name, building name and topographical
indexes. Especially helpful are the very specific building type categories
subdivided by country and city. 1974 to the present.
For design
and behavior research:
PsycINFO
Sociological Abstracts
Social Sciences Citation
Index
Additional Indexes in all subject areas:
Article
Resources Page on University Libraries Web Site
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Research Strategy
1. Define the research problem.
2. Create a list of terms that describe your topic. Continually update,
refine, narrow
Example: topic: sustainable architecture
other terms: green architecture, green design, architecture and energy conservation,
architecture - environmental aspects
3. Keep track of sources: databases you've consulted, citations of books
and articles
4. Locate resources from a variety of sources
library catalog
indexes and databases: online and print
bibliographies and footnotes in books and articles
identify researchers/experts in the topic area, search those authors'
works
reference books
talk to your professors
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
|