The University of Cincinnati
Libraries contain a wealth of information in the field of architecture.
A large percentage of the material is housed in the DAAP Library in the
Alms Building. With over 60,000 books and 200 journal titles in the areas
of historical and current architecture, landscape architecture, and urban
design, this branch library can provide answers to a wide variety of questions.
However, the successful practice of architecture is becoming increasingly
dependent upon information produced in subject areas outside the traditionally
defined field of architecture. Technical research on alternate energy resources,
psychological studies on the influence of the built environment on different
groups, and reports dealing with the political aspects of urban planning
are examples of the kind of resources that may be important to students
and architects but may not be located in the DAAP Library.
Some of the frequently
asked questions dealing with architecture are addressed below. Most can
be answered with the resources of the DAAP Library alone; but, for a few,
a trip to other UC libraries may be essential. If you have difficulty
finding or using these materials, or if you need more specific information,
do not hesitate to consult the library staff.
1. How can I find
information on a specific architect?
If the Library owns
a book that deals entirely with the work of one architect, it can be found
by doing a subject search of UCLID, under the name of the architect or
the firm with which he or she is associated. If you cannot find your architect
in the UCLID system, you can move on to biographical dictionaries and
index journals.
Journal indexes help
you find information published in architecture and design journals on
both contemporary and historical architects. You can start with the Architectural
Index, the Architectural Periodicals Index, the Avery Index to Architectural
Periodicals, and the Art Abstracts.
To find a list of
articles, look under the name of the architect or firm. The two exceptions
to this are the Architectural Index, where all architects are listed in
a section under "Architect or Designer." and the Architectural
Periodicals Index, where they are listed under the term "Architects."
Each index covers a different group of journals and a different time period,
so if you strike out in one, try another.
Biographical dictionaries
and encyclopedias provide succinct biographical information and pertinent
dates, degrees and projects. The best dictionary or encyclopedia for you
to use will depend upon your architect and his or her relative importance,
country of origin, or period of activity. Check with the library staff
for help in selecting a biographical dictionary, or start with something
basic like the MACMILLAN ENCYLCOPEDIA OF ARCHITECTS or CONTEMPORARY ARCHITECTS.
2. How can I find
information on a particular building?
In a few cases, an
entire book has been written on a single building, and such books are
listed under the name of the building in the Online Catalog. For example,
under KIMBELL ART MUSEUM you can find a listing for the book Light is
the Theme: Louis I. Kahn and the Kimbell Art Museum.
Most of the time,
however, you will have to search under the name of the architect in the
Online Catalog or in journal indexes to find a discussion of the building
you are researching within the context of the architect's work. If you
do not know the name of the architect and cannot find anything under the
name of the building in UCLID or journal indexes, do not despair. Do a
subject search of UCLID using the term "architecture" with the
name of the state and city in which the building is located.
Example:
Architecture - Ohio
- Cincinnati
The Library owns many
architectural guides to cities that will give brief information about
most of the important buildings in the city, including their architects
and dates of construction.
3. How can I find
information on the architecture of a specific country or historical period
or type of building?
The procedure to follow
is basically the same as that described above: use UCLID to find books
and the journal indexes to find articles. To identify the term used to
designate the period or type of building in UCLID, use the Library of
Congress Subject Headings. Since most of the architecture journal indexes
do not have official lists of subject terms, you have to rely on the cross-references
given within the indexes or think of other, similar terms. If you cannot
find your subject term in an index, check with the library staff.
Art and architecture
dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting place if you are unfamiliar
with the period or subject you are researching. The articles in dictionaries
and encyclopedias can supply a good background on a subject, related terms
that may be useful in your search for more information, and lists of relevant
books and articles. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ARCHITECTS, the MACMILLAN ENCYCLOPEDIA
OF ARCHITECTS, and the DICTIONARY OF ART are good encyclopedias for architecture,
and other items shelved near them on the reference shelves.
4. How can I find
plans of buildings?
The following books
provide good plans and photographs of major historical buildings:
SIR BANISTER FLETCHER'S,
A HISTORY OF ARCHITECTURE
DAAP Reference NA200.F63 1987
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF WORLD ARCHITECTURE: DESIGN, ENGINEERING & CONSTRUCTION
DAAP Reference NA31.E59 1988 (5 volumes)
DRAWINGS OF GREAT BUILDINGS.
DAAP Reference NA2706.U6 D72 1983
If your building is not included in the sources listed above, you may
be able to find a plan in a book or journal article on the architect or
period. Search UCLID and journal indexes as described in Section 1 and
3 above.
5. How can I find information on technical aspects of buildings and
materials?
Technical information
on specific materials can be found in the various handbooks and manuals
kept on the reference shelves. These can be found in UCLID by doing a
subject search under the name of the material discussed, for example:
Steel-Handbooks, Manuals,
etc.
The architecture journal
indexes discussed in Section 1 above can help you find articles in journals
on specific technical subjects. There are also other indexes that can
be helpful, Applied Science and Technology Abstract on OhioLINK, and the
Engineering Index in the Engineering Library. The Engineering Library
and the College of Applied Science Library have a great deal of information
on this aspect of architecture.
6. How can I find
cost estimates for building materials or building construction?
The following subject
heading provides current publications that give price estimates for specific
construction items and entire buildings:
Building Estimates
7. How can I find
materials on energy and architecture?
You can find books
on energy and architecture by doing a subject search in UCLID under the
following headings:
Architecture and Climate
Architecture and Solar Radiation
Solar Energy
Solar Houses - Design and Construction
You can find journal articles in the major architecture journals by looking
in the Architectural Index under the heading ENERGY or SOLAR. To find
articles in the technical and engineering journals, use the Applied Science
and Technology Abstract or the Engineering Index.
8. How can I find copies of codes and standards?
The DAAP Library owns
copies of the Cincinnati Building Code, the Uniform Building Code, and
the BOCA Basic National Building Code.
If you need a copy
of a standard, such as those set by the American National Standards Institute,
go to the Engineering Library.
9. Is it possible
to search any architecture journal indexes by computer?
The Art Abstracts
and the Avery Index are both available on the UCLID/OhioLINK network,
and can be searched at no charge. The Architectural Periodicals Index
as well as several other journal and newspaper indexes useful in architectural
research, can be searched by computer in the DAAP Library on an appointment
basis for a fee.
One advantage of computer
searching is that abstracts and titles of articles can be searched for
terms and concepts that are not in printed indexes. The computer can also
tell you what is available on a subject involving multiple concepts, such
as the preservation of metal in historic buildings. Costs of computer
searches vary considerably depending on a variety of factors. Ask the
Librarian for additional information about computer searching.
10. Why are some
of the architecture books locked up or non-circulating?
Some of the expensive
and heavily illustrated architecture books are kept in the cage to prevent
theft and mutilation. Keeping these books in the cage or non-circulating
is part of an effort to ensure that the books that you will need will
be available and intact when you need them.
Books can be consulted
in the Library if a valid UC identification card or driver's license is
left at the checkout desk. Books in the Cage area can be identified by
the symbol DAAP Rare Book in UCLID. Please check with the library staff
if you need to browse in the Cage area.
11. Other Questions?
If this guide still
leaves you with questions or problems concerning research in architecture,
please ask the library staff for help.
|