|
Reference
MACMILLAN ENCYCLOPEDIA
OF ARCHITECTS. Adolf K. Placzek, editor in chief. New York: Free Press,
1982. (4 volumes)
DAAP Reference NA40.M25 1982
Biographies of over 2400 architects and firms from ancient Egypt to present
day architects born before 1931 or already deceased. A chronological list
of works and a brief bibliography follow each article. An index of over
30,00 architectural works is at the end of the last volume.
CONTEMPORARY ARCHITECTS. Muriel Emanuel, editor. Third edition. New York:
St. James Press, 1994.
DAAP Ref NA680.C625 1994
International in scope, this covers living architects or those recently
deceased and emphasizes architects and works of the last three decades.
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ARCHITECTURE:
DESIGN, ENGINEERING & CONSTRUCTION. Joseph A. Wilkes, editor. New
York: Wiley, 1988. (5 volumes)
DAAP Reference NA31.E59 1988
This serves as a good starting point for architectural terms, styles and
people. Especially useful are lengthy articles on building types covering
their history and characteristics. A bibliography follow seach article
for further research.
SIR BANISTER FLETCHER'S,
A HISTORY OF ARCHITECTURE. Sir Banister Fletcher. 19th edition edited
by John Musgrove. London: Butterworths, 1987.
DAAP Reference NA200.F63 1987
This is considered the standard reference work on architectural history.
It is profusely illustrated with drawings, plans and photographs. Its
very detailed index makes it a valuable reference for concise identification
of architectural styles and characteristics.
ARCHITECTURE
AND BUILDING ONLINE REFERENCE TOOLS
"Architecture and Building is a guide to net sites on architecture,
building and construction, design, housing, planning, preservation, facility
management, energy and the environment, and landscape architecture, compiled
by Jeanne Brown, University of Nevada Las Vegas Architecture Studies Library."
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Handbooks
The following handbooks contain basic technical standards and requirements
for designing, drawing and presenting building plans and details and include
issues such as functional requirements of building types, energy conservation,
designs for the handicapped, human scale, and dimensions of furniture
and appliances, all presented with plans and sections.
RAMSEY/SLEEPER ARCHITECTURAL GRAPHIC STANDARDS. 8th edition. John Hoke,
editor. New York: Wiley, 1988.
DAAP Reference TH2031.A48 2000
TIME-SAVER STANDARDS
FOR BUILDING TYPES. Joseph DeChiara. 3rd edition. New York: McGraw-Hill,
1990.
DAAP Reference NA2760.D42 1990
INTERIOR GRAPHIC AND
DESIGN STANDARDS. S.C. Reznikoff. New York: Whitney Library of Design.
DAAP Reserves and Oversize NA2708.R49 1986
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Indexes
ART ABSTRACTS.
Covers architecture and the visual arts from 1929 to the present. Indexes
230 magazines.
ARCHITECTURAL INDEX.
Web: 1982 to the present. DAAP Reference Index Shelf Z5941.A7: 1951 to
the present.
Indexes nineteen major American architectural magazines. Articles are
listed under building types such as museums and residences, by geographic
location (city and state), and architect or designer with more specific
subheadings under each.
ARCHITECTURAL PERIODICALS
INDEX.
DAAP Reference Index Shelf Z5941.A73
Published in Great Britain, provides good coverage of major foreign and
technical magazines not included in the other indexes. The entries are
arranged by subject and include a brief description of the article. At
the end of each volume are designer name, building name and topographical
indexes. Especially helpful are the very specific building type categories
subdivided by country and city. 1974 to the present.
AVERY
INDEX TO ARCHITECTURAL PERIODICALS.
The most comprehensive index to architecture maintained by the staff of
the Avery Architectural Library. Late 1800's to the present.
|